Snowblower Forum banner

Toro 724 - 38050 - Blown Connecting Rod

15K views 62 replies 12 participants last post by  unknown1 
#1 · (Edited)
Today I picked up this 30+ year old Toro

Model: Toro 724 - 38050 Ser 9000953
Engine: Tecumseh H70-130176D Ser 81320
Connecting Rod: Tecumseh 32591C eBay: $18

Photos:https://goo.gl/photos/pUg518MMahSJteiQ9https://photos.google.com/album/AF1QipOmru4EfhOZckmxMPwMYpzDy4n4f6GDjH2vJOy2

As you can see, the case is cracked where the electric starter used to be.
The previous owner salvaged the starter for his other Toro. He was running it last week when it suddenly started blowing smoke and seized.

I have zero hands-on experience with 4 stroke engines but have watched lots of videos lately. My best guess is that the connecting rod shattered.

If that's true, a generic replacement is about $18 shipped on eBay.

Question: can JB Weld be used to fix the crack in the crankcase cover. I am hoping it should be fairly low pressure and reasonable temperature in there and that all it needs to do is seal well enough to keep the oil in place... does that sound about right? I've seen videos of people doing that and posted one below.

Any opinions would be welcome.

Links for reference:
Engine:
https://www.jackssmallengines.com/Jacks-Parts-Lookup/Model-Diagram/tecumseh/26253/88454

Snowblower:
Toro 38050 Parts List and Diagram - (1000001-1999999)(1981) : eReplacementParts.com

Connecting Rod:
Rod Connecting Tecumseh Rotary 6769 Prime Line 7 03864 Sunbelt SB 6769 | eBay

Links to DonyBoy73 repair videos:

JB Weld Crankcase:
https://youtu.be/zb-kXty8bTY?t=324

See less See more
#5 ·
Thanks for the pragmatic and realistic answer.
I guess you mean these Predators (presumably Honda clone)..

Gas Engines – Save on Replacement Engines at Harbor Freight

Looks like they've gone up $20 to $119
Or were you thinking of a different engine perhaps?
If so.. can you add a link please.

The Snow engines from brandnewengines seem quite a bit more expensive.