Snowblower Forum banner

Anyone use drift cutters?

11K views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  alphaboy123 
#1 ·
I am new to the Honda world, had Ariens snowblowers my whole life. All the blowers I've had for the last 30 years came with drift cutters. My new-to-me HSS928 does not come with drift cutters but I guess I can buy some if I want.

I am curious to know if they are effective on the Honda. Didn't need them often on the Ariens, but when I did, they worked well.

Thanks,
Thumper

#3 ·
If they are on there of course I use them, I ain't taking them off. If they are on there I'm not putting them on.

If you haven't noticed, at least with the older machines, they have holes predrilled into the housing for drift cutters.

#4 ·
I hear you and yes I saw the pre-drilled holes.

On my other machines, they are on the machine but on 'backward or upside down' so that they don't stick out. They are bolted on with nuts captive in a knob, and the cutter has a notch on the end and a slot for the other hole. This way you can just loosen the knobs, slide the cutter out of the notch, flip it into 'I want to use it' position and re-tighten the knobs. Pretty handy.

#6 ·
To answer your question, they work on deep snows. I should have answered it the first time. My apology.

How often do you get deep snows? Don't think hard snows, think deep. By cutting the snow they keep the snow in front of the blower for the second pass, doesn't matter for the first pass. Many times after you make the first pass the snow will fall sideways into the path you've just cleared. Drift cutters help with that. There should be less cleanup. I've used in the past but never get the deep snows which cover the top of the machine. That's what you need, snows that are higher than the snowblower.

#7 ·