hs55...sounds Loud and fast at full throttle? - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Bob Cat

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 12-06-2010, 12:55 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
hs55...sounds Loud and fast at full throttle?

Hi, newbie here. Found an 1984 HS55 snowblower locally on craigslist for $130

We cleaned the carb and I replaced the gas tank. Starts right up, but sounds like it is running way too fast at full throttle (very Loud).

Also only throws 3-4" of snow maybe 6-8' (if that).
Belts look to be in good shape, but not sure there adjusted properly.
Both augers and propeller spin great!

I have attempted at adjusting the throttle screw but that doesnt seem to help.....any other ideas? Are there other screws for adjusting...and if so, where are they located?

Thanks...

Last edited by Jeremy102579; 12-06-2010 at 01:00 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 12-06-2010, 06:04 PM
Super Moderator

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 553
Thanks (Received): 222
Likes (Given): 584
Likes (Received): 596
Sounds like you got a good deal. Did you get an operator's manual with it when you bought it? Seems like everything I've ever gotten from CL comes without the manual. Lucky for us, though, we can usually get them from the manufacture's web sites. You can download one for the HS55 here.
Honda Power Equipment - Operator's and Owner's Manuals

The manual for the GX140 engine can be downloaded here.
Honda Engines - GX140 Owner's Manual

Manuals are always good to refer to, and experience has shown, the warnings are there for a reason.

If nothing else, they make good reading. Good luck and let us know how it goes with your HS55.
post #3 of 8 Old 12-31-2010, 10:15 AM

Post Thanks / Like