checking transmission oil on hs622 - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Snowmobile Escrow

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2012, 12:57 AM   #1

Default checking transmission oil on hs622

Hi- I just purchased a used 1998 hs622. Can anyone tell me how to check the trans oil level? I have called the dealer and a small engine repair shop and no one can give me the correct procedure. I am a heavy duty mechanic specializing in hydraulics. There are no level plugs and all I can find is a rubber fill? plug. One shop suggested 1 inch below the fill plug but wasn't sure. I have been searching for a free download service manual as well but have found none! Any help would be appreciated as i would like to check the oil before operating as there has been a patch of jb weld or something on the transmission case. It doesnt appear to leak but that doesn't mean its not low! Nothing kills a machine faster than lack of lube. Any info would be appreciated-thanks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-13-2012, 08:02 AM   #2
Super Moderator

Welcome to the forum. Sorry, you won't fid a free shop manual out there for them. I'll take a look at the manual I have and get back with you on that one.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Old 12-13-2012, 08:51 AM   #3

hello fairplane, welcome to SBF
honda doesn't have free stuff pertaning to "any " of their machines on the web
1-toro 521E-38052 . 2-toro 521r -38052
1-toro 826E-38150 . 1- powerliteE-38175 n.r.
1-............, TORO XL 824..............
william
Old 12-13-2012, 09:20 AM   #4
Super Moderator

Owner's manuals can be gotten free in pdf form from their power equipment site for any of their outdoor power equipment.

The shop manual says;

Transmission, 5W-30, 2.0 liter (2.1 qt.)
Auger transmission, #90 gear oil, .16 liter (.17 qt)