Snowblower Forum banner

A question for carburetor guru's

15K views 23 replies 13 participants last post by  jimchevy 
#1 ·
Hello all. I am in the process of getting a '79 Toro 8/26 back in running order, and I am having an issue with the updraft carburetor. The engine is a B&S 8hp, and this is a style of carb that I have never worked on before. It was rebuilt with a B&S kit I picked up on ebay, and I cleaned both sections of the carb body in a sonic cleaner before reassembly. The problem I am having is that when I turn on the gas at the tank, everything seems fine, no leaks. When I begin cranking the engine and vacuum is applied to the carb, it starts to leak gas out of the intake, and the upper section of the carb body is damp with fuel. When I stop cranking the engine, the fuel leak stops. I have had it apart and back together 3 times now checking and rechecking my work, all with the same result. Was I supposed to put thread sealer on the main jet before screwing it into the lower body? Is there a common area on the upper or lower sections of the body that they crack? I thought I eliminated the needle and seat as a problem when the leaks stopped after I stopped cranking the engine. Thank you in advance for your time, and any advice would be appreciated.

#4 ·
I also haven't worked on this type of Briggs carb and I'm sure classiccat will be along to bail us out.

I would take a wild guess and say your carb is good and "maybe you have a stuck or not completely closing intake valve in the engine. Have you checked your valve clearances or done a compression test? Does the engine start and run well? If it does, my theory is wrong.

#5 ·
Hello Grunt,
Yes the engine now starts and runs. When I had it apart, I checked the valve lash and everything was within spec. I got it running today and after making a mess with spitting gas, it cleared up after the engine was running. I can't believe this is normal.

#6 ·
I have a little bit of experience with the old updraft carbs.