Auger not driving on Honda HS928 - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Snowmobile Escrow

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2013, 02:37 PM   #1

Default Auger not driving on Honda HS928

First post...

I am a snowblower newb, but purchased a used Honda HS928 tracker. Of course last year we had hardly any snow so I barely used it, today I went to use it and dug in at the end of the gravel driveway. Snap!

Long story short--diagnosed that I had broken a shear bolt (this is the one that connects each side of the auger to the shaft). Replaced both sides (the non-broken one looked like a non-standard allen head bolt).

Now I can turn the auger, and everything back to the impeller in the chute appear to be moving together.

However, when I fire it up, and engage the clutch the auger is not driving at all.

I thought it may be the drive belt for the auger? (Don't have a shop manual, but if I'm getting the geography right, it looks as though the end of the drive shaft where the pulley attaches is what goes through the impeller for the snow chute and has another shear pin that you can see behind the augers.)

Found this thread (and a link in it back to an older thread for a HS928 from OldPhil)--just wanted someone with more experience to offer their thoughts on the diagnosis, because it sounds like it may be a PITA to get to the belts....

Last edited by paredown; 01-16-2013 at 02:40 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-16-2013, 04:15 PM   #2

I am not familiar with the machine but it should have a belt cover. remove the cover, check the auger belt if it is on track start it up and engage the augers.

while auger control is engaged the pulley it is on should be spinning. if that pulley is spinning but the impeller is not you broke something between the 2.