Honda auger belt remove and replace - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Snowmobile Escrow

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2011, 07:56 AM   #1

Default Honda auger belt remove and replace

Greetings to all. Newbie here, but I hope to get to know everyone and provide some helpful info. But first...

Standard tale of woe: Auger belt on a Honda HS624 wheeled 'blower needs replacement. I've removed access panels and have the belt free from the driving (engine) sheave, but I cannot figure out to get it off the driven (auger) sheave. There's a belt guard covering the sheave from about 1 o'clock to 5 o'clock, no way to sneak the belt out.

I've ordered a shop manual for this beast, but while I'm waiting for it, I'm soliciting info. For example, do I need to remove the auger assembly from the machine to get the belt out?

Any input gratefully accepted. Thanks!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-16-2011, 08:24 AM   #2
Super Moderator

Oldphil replaced one on an HS928, and explained what he had to do to it over here. Maybe there's something in there that'll help, or maybe somebody else knows more about the HS624.

http://www.snowblowerforums.com/foru...belt-time.html
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Old 01-16-2011, 08:54 AM   #3

By belt guard do you mean a wire that stops the belt from falling off when it is loose? Usually those can be unscrewed or bent out of the way. Usually you can just push the belt to the side by hand or with a screwdriver and pull the engine over to get the belt to pop off. Of course take proper precautions to make sure the engine doesn't start while you are messing with it. Removing the spark plug would be the best insurance.
Old 01-16-2011, 10:10 AM   #4

Default Thanks!

Wow, you guys are fast! Thanks for the info.