Are cherry hot mufflers normal? - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Snowmobile Escrow

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2011, 11:10 PM   #1

Default Are cherry hot mufflers normal?

Newbie here, but not new to blowing snow. I recently obtained 20 some year old Noma powered by an Tecumseh HMSK80. I have run it a few times and have noticed that within minutes the muffler becomes cherry red, and occassionally backfires. Flame can be seen coming out of the muffler. I have never seen the red hot muffler like that. Some claim that it is normal. Is it normal to be red hot like that?

I did some research on the internet and was pointed in two directions, a dirty carb and stuck valve. I cleaned the carb, but did not rebuild it, except the bowl gasket because I could see gas leaking out from around it. This did not seem to solve the red hot muffler problem. I should mention that the machine was not performing properly when I experienced this it would surge and hunt. The machine does seem to run somewhat better after the cleaning. I should also mention that I can hear a squishing noise in the carb when the primer is pushed and fuel comes out of the choke plate area when the primer is pushed. Is this normal?

Next I sprayed seafoam in the spark plug hole onto the valves. I can observe the valves moving up and down. I still am getting the red hot muffler.

I am to the point where I am ready to buy a new carb if this will resolve the issue. Will it?
Thanks,
Hillbilly
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-09-2011, 11:18 PM   #2

I should add that I have been running the machin without the cover over the carb, the one with the emergency stop key. Would the wire from the cover not being on the ground, cause this condition.
Thanks,
Hillbilly
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!