toro ccr 3000 wont start - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Snowmobile Escrow

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2013, 12:01 PM   #1

Default toro ccr 3000 wont start

I took in a 1997 toro ccr 3000 model number 38430 ser. 7911xxxx that will not start. this blower has the Chinese built 47pt6-4 engine.

let me start with letting you know that I am a certified small engine mechanic who has been in the business for near 25 years.
but this one has me stumped. and I need some ideas cuz I have a feeling I'm over looking some thing.
this blower came in cuz it would not start. it had been sitting for several years. the carb was gummed up as well as the fuel filter and fuel line. I had the carb tore down and gone through and cleaned. replaced the primer bulb assembly, primer line, fuel line, fuel filter, and spark plug (cj6y). it has near 160 lbs compression, gets spark, and is getting gas. when you prime it and pull it over, it fires up for a very brief second then dies. plug comes out soaked in gas after several pulls.
in my opinion, I think the coil is only firing under low rpm as when first pulling and starting, but quits as rpm increases. that or it has a bad crank seal.
does any one here have experience with this particular engine? I'm not a toro dealer, and the ccr's that I have seen in the past have had briggs or Tecumseh engines in them.
give me your best input and some ideas in case I over looked some thing.
and no I have not performed a leakdown test on this engine. I feel it's too much of a headache trying to block up the ports to do so.
thanks guys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-13-2013, 12:50 PM   #2