Frozen chute deflector cable on Craftsman blower - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Register Home Forum Active Topics Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Snowmobile Escrow


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2013, 12:58 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 3
Default Frozen chute deflector cable on Craftsman blower

Craftsman 247.88790 snowblower.
4-way joystick controls the chute left-right and deflector up-down.

Here's the parts diagram:

http://www.searspartsdirect.com/part...&prst=&shdMod=

There are 2 cables that run from the joystick (36) to the cable guide (48).
The rear one, that raises the chute deflector is frozen. If I can't free it up
I want to replace it, but the parts diagram does not show cables.

How would I find the part if it's not shown on the diagram?
Online Chat with sears was of no help at all.

Is it just a matter of buying generic cable, cut to length and solder on new ends?


Thanks.

Last edited by bw77; 12-19-2013 at 02:42 PM.
bw77 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-19-2013, 02:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
HJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: East Bridgewater MA.
Posts: 200
Default

It would appear that # 54 & #61 on the diagram are the cables
HJames is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 02:49 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
HJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: East Bridgewater MA.
Posts: 200
Default

I see on the parts list now that they are listed as cable ties, would sears really charge $4 for a zip tie???
HJames is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 03:04 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
HJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: East Bridgewater MA.
Posts: 200
Default

Okay I see it now, #36 on the diagram and on the list is a complete control assembly and it's not cheap. They don't show the cables seperately on the diagram because they don't sell them seperatly. I would try to soak your cable in some penetrating grease and free it, otherwise look for a different type of cable that you can use as a substitute. I certainly wouldn't pay for the $$$ their asking for that Control assembly.
HJames is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 05:18 PM   #5
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,804
Default

Frozen with ice or frozen with rust?

You can get a cable luber like this:

Shryp is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 11:01 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 3
Default

Frozen with rust. Thanks for the cable luber link.
bw77 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.5.2
Compact Tractor Reviews Tractor Reviews Snowblowers Lawn Mower Forum
My Tractor Forum Snow Thrower Power Equipment Forum
Combine Forum Snowblower Forum ATV and UTV Reviews