Frozen chute deflector cable on Craftsman blower - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-19-2013, 12:58 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 3
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Frozen chute deflector cable on Craftsman blower

Craftsman 247.88790 snowblower.
4-way joystick controls the chute left-right and deflector up-down.

Here's the parts diagram:

http://www.searspartsdirect.com/part...&prst=&shdMod=

There are 2 cables that run from the joystick (36) to the cable guide (48).
The rear one, that raises the chute deflector is frozen. If I can't free it up
I want to replace it, but the parts diagram does not show cables.

How would I find the part if it's not shown on the diagram?
Online Chat with sears was of no help at all.

Is it just a matter of buying generic cable, cut to length and solder on new ends?


Thanks.

Last edited by bw77; 12-19-2013 at 02:42 PM.
bw77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-19-2013, 02:46 PM
Senior Member
 
HJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: East Bridgewater MA.
Posts: 279
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 11
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 11
It would appear that # 54 & #61 on the diagram are the cables
HJames is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-19-2013, 02:49 PM
Senior Member
 
HJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: East Bridgewater MA.
Posts: 279
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 11
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 11
I see on the parts list now that they are listed as cable ties, would sears really charge $4 for a zip tie???
HJames is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-19-2013, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
HJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: East Bridgewater MA.
Posts: 279
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 11
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 11
Okay I see it now, #36 on the diagram and on the list is a complete control assembly and it's not cheap. They don't show the cables seperately on the diagram because they don't sell them seperatly. I would try to soak your cable in some penetrating grease and free it, otherwise look for a different type of cable that you can use as a substitute. I certainly wouldn't pay for the $$$ their asking for that Control assembly.
HJames is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-19-2013, 05:18 PM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,043
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 176
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 209
Shryp is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-20-2013, 11:01 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 3
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Frozen with rust. Thanks for the cable luber link.
bw77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome