Snowblower Forum banner

New member needs help to buy the proper snow blower for a driveway with an incline

4K views 13 replies 10 participants last post by  snowsh1 
#1 ·
I am new to snow blowers and I need help to select the proper one.

I would like to buy the single stage that clean snow to the bare pavement. Or should I go 2 stage with wheel or track? I would like to buy the smallest because of small garage space.

The driveway dimensions are 35ft x 13ft with a slope mostly 17.6 grade (10 degree) and 25 grade maximum (14.4 degree) in a few spots.

Thank you in advance for your suggestion/recommendation!

#2 ·
Welcome aboard....!

For a new unit my only suggestion would be a tracked Honda HSS724AT(D).
For used units or Honda HS6(7)24TA(S).

This recommendations are bases on the fact that they are fitted with tracks for greater traction (needed for inclines IMHO) but also because of their hydrostatic transmission that would give you infinite ground speed adjustment and let you move as slow or fast as needed without having to stop to change gears.
:blowerhug:

#5 ·
I am located in NJ, 20 miles from NYC. Last winter it snowed 3 to 5 feet one night and took me hours to shovel snow manually. I also had to put on traction cleats Yaktrax on my shoes because of ice. Any other option than Honda that is more affordable? Thank you again

#6 ·
The Ariens Path Pro machines (single stage) are great for getting to the bare pavement and avoiding that overnight re-freeze. Could be a consideration for you, Snowsh.

#7 ·