Snowblower Forum banner

Seafoam Test....

12K views 23 replies 12 participants last post by  mrfixit 
#1 ·
My little 98cc failed to start last week which isn't all that uncommon for this thing. I always use new premium gas with stabil and echo oil for a 50:1 mix. Usually all I have to do is take the screw out from under the bowl, clean out the holes in that bolt and I'm good to go. I did that but this time I added some store bought 50:1 fuel and she started right up but sputtered a little and died as soon as I removed the choke.

That's when I took to youtube and watched a ton of videos and read threads about carb repair since I have ZERO experience. I gather that I still need to remove the float and needle to spray some carb cleaner and air up in the holes to clean them out too. Seafoam has also been a commonly used item.

So last night I got some liquid Seafoam and the aerosol too. There's not much fuel in the blower, maybe a cup or two so I put in an equal part of Seafoam. The blower started right up but died a few seconds after putting it to mid chocke which was a step in the right direction because after the basic carb cleaning I did a few days ago she would die immediately at half choke. I started her again and left it in full choke a bit then moved to half choke and sprayed the aerosol Seafoam in the air intake. She sputtered with a ton of white smoke but wouldn't shut down. After a few seconds of doing this I turned choke off and she still wouldn't shut off so I kept spraying. After about 20 seconds of no choke and spraying she eventually shut down. She did seem to be running at a higher RPM and ran a bit smoother.

So I parked her in the shed for now. In a few hours I plan to start her up again to get a new batch of Seafoam in there. My initial report is that the stuff works because I was finally able to take the choke off. I'll report back later.

See less See more
#4 · (Edited)