Snowblower Forum banner

Older (1997?) MTD snowblower with HMSK80

10K views 21 replies 10 participants last post by  Ballroomblitz 
#1 ·
So I have an older MTD snowblower with a Tecumseh HMSK80 engine on it. My parents and I have been using this snow blower for what seems like 15 years if not longer.

Lately this snow blower has begun to show its age with some harder starts, seems a little less reliable when running etc. Small problems nothing too major. Yesterday I think the start motor seized in the extended position and then my father tried pull starting it breaking some teeth on the starter motor and breaking the pull chord.

I was able to repair the pull start with the help of some youtube videos to get it back running again but now I have a few questions.

I am planning on buying a replacement starter motor and already have a new carb to put on this snowblower. If I replace the motor and carb am i right in my assumptions that this should be a reliable snowblower?

I have already purchased an ariens deluxe 28 so this will be a secondary snow blower but I would still like it to be reliable for use. I have seen some snowblowers that are much older and still running. I just want to see if there is anything else I should be doing to keep this snow blower working well.

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
Welcome to SBF!!!

I have 3 tecumseh engines dating back to '72...that I brought back from the assumed-dead...and have plenty of life left in them as long as they are cared for. They are very simple engine designs but they do require some tlc.

A few tips that immediately come to kind:
-Familiarize yourself with the tecumseh l-head service manual.
-Install a tach and keep RPMs below 3600.
-Use fresh fuel...preferably ethanol free.
-Treat the fuel with 1% sea foam to minimize carbon deposits.
-Replace the fuel line
-Install a fuel filter and fuel shutoff
-I run my tecs dry every time...you never know when it will be called to action again.