Snowblower Forum banner

Fuel shut-off valve stuck

22K views 35 replies 17 participants last post by  Kiss4aFrog 
#1 ·
Hi, I'm a newbie here.

I got my Ariens 28 Deluxe in February of 2015 and it worked great (snowy winter in Maine last year). After it finally stopped snowing, I ran the machine dry and changed the oil as per the instructions. I also left the fuel shut-off valve in the OFF position.

A few days ago, during our first snow, I went to start the machine and could only turn the fuel shut-off valve part way open. So…I can't start the machine. Any ideas as to what's going on? The shop can't pick it up (I don't have a truck) until the 7th, just before another snow storm. I'd love to get this thing going before then (and save myself some $$).

Thanks.

#4 · (Edited)
:welcome: to the forum

If the line is long enough, remove the line from the valve and stick it straight on the tank so you can use it for now.

They shouldn't need to pick it up as it would be stupid to drag it all the way back to the shop and then back to you when anyone can simply replace the three-five buck valve on site in a couple minutes. I sure don't understand their thinking.

If I were you and working it some didn't fix it I'd likely just get one at a hardware store, big box, auto supply and just be down with it.

Briggs & Stratton Inline Fuel Shut Off Valve-698183 - The Home Depot

http://www.autozone.com/miscellaneous-non-automotive/fuel-shut-off-valve

#5 ·
If you get desperate remove the valve and just connect it it up (if the hose is long enough)
Remember to pinch off the line so the gas doesn't run out all over the place!
If not, buy a new length of hose and a new shut off valve. Any auto supply house or box store lawn section has that stuff on hand.

EDIT - JINX! we posted at the same time! lol

#7 ·
Thanks all for the replies.