Snowblower Forum banner

Scraper and Skid adjustment on Airens ST2+2 (Model: 932015)

12K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  HillnGullyRider 
#1 ·
Disclaimer: I've never used a snow blower before but am very mechanically inclined.

I just picked up an Ariens ST2+2 (Model: 932015) 2-stage blower this week. From what I can tell, it was probably made in the late 80's or early 90's. I tried it out and found it pretty hard to push so I did a little digging (I found a photo copy of the users manual online) and found that the rubber scraper blade is missing and the skid shoes are probably not adjusted correctly.

Questions:
1. From what I've read this machine is supposed to be "Auger assisted drive". The blower has metal auger tines with rubber blades riveted to them. I'm assuming that the rubber blades of the auger need to be in minimal contact with the ground in order to provide the drive assistance. Is this true?

2. From the manual I found, there is a rubber scraper blade that attaches to the bottom of the auger shroud. The manual indicates that I should adjust the rubber blade so that it contacts the ground and flex's upward by 1/16" (Assuming a smooth, hard surface to be plowed). Does this sound correct? If so, I'll then re-adjust the skid shoes so that they just make contact with the ground with the scraper in correct adjustment.

3. Is there anything else that could be causing the "hard to push" issue?

4. If anyone has direct experience with this model, are there any gotcha's or maintenance issues that I should be aware of?

Thanks for your help.

See less See more
#2 ·
I have never seen one operate personally, so I dont know exacty how they work, or how well..but I can tell you its from about 1984, and these "2+2" models are pretty unusual..Not many were made, and I think it was an experiment that didnt go very far..