LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 12-29-2016, 10:51 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
New to me ST824

I'm fixing up an old ST824. Model 924050 serial number 085377. I'll make sure to post some pics soon. Is there anything about this thrower I should be aware of? Areas of weakness or trouble. The good the bad and the ugly. I'm rather new to the world of snowblower rebuilding and would love to know what I'm getting into HAHAHA! Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 12-30-2016, 08:47 AM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 18
Thanks (Received): 26
Likes (Given): 120
Likes (Received): 98
I have two ST824s.I really can't think of any weaknesses or bad points about them as compared to any other blower.

One thing I've noticed is the differential lock can get a little finicky in colder temperatures.Sometimes when I turn the knob to lock it,the knob drops into position,but it isn't locked.It can take several tries and a little swearing to get it.Probably more a case of needing service than a design flaw,but both of my ST's do that.

The only other thing that does irk me is the gear shift lever has a tendency to work hard in colder temps,too.I've done all the usual cleaning and lubing of the shafts and linkage,but still works harder than it should.

Oh,and the paint sucks.I've seen very few regularly used (salt or not) ST824's that the paint wasn't falling off the bucket.I have an 88 Toro and an 83 Allis that look great,the ST's look like they have cancer. I'm gonna' have to do some painting,like it or not-and I don't.
post #3 of 12 Old 12-30-2016, 09:02 AM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 127
Thanks (Received): 195
Likes (Given): 469
Likes (Received): 816