post #1 of 23 Old 01-30-2017, 08:20 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 0
Ariens 1028 with wobbly Impeller

Hello .

I am new to the form, so will provide as much info as I can. I have happily owned the 1028 for ~13 years. Works great on the heavy NL wet snow. I have done all my own maintenance over the years however it basically consisted on changing belts and other minor adjustments.

this issue is bigger and I'm not sure how to attack it yet.

This past storm, my 1028 ate a shrub and I have encountered some serious wobble/motion in the impeller since. I noticed when the auger was engaged, the blower worked fine, but once I released the auger handle, the impeller never stopped but instead continued to rotate and made loud grinding awful noises as it scraped along the inside on the blower/funnel.

Obviously something nasty was going on and the break for the auger was no longer functioning either.

I had a look at the belts and did notice that the belt finger guide on the left side of the blower had actually cracked off and fell to the bottom of the blower.

The auger break and belt pulley worked fine however the impeller and attached belt drive assembly were very loose and in fact it would wobble away from the auger belt brake and therefore wouldn't stop rotating.

the impeller blade edges are all shiny and worn down from impacting the inside of the blower funnel.

So, the impeller is extremely loose, causing damage to the impeller blades and the blower in general. Not sure if its related to the belt finger/guide breaking as well, or just a by product.

Any advice or where to start would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 01-30-2017, 09:09 AM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 127
Thanks (Received): 195
Likes (Given): 469
Likes (Received): 816