LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 02-11-2017, 11:31 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Can't punch out broken shear bolt

I've been blowing with an 1128 for 7 or 8 years on a gravel driveway. I haven't broken a bolt in years, but this year I'm breaking them left and right. I made the mistake of buying a couple shear bolts at Paris Farmers Union - the were grooved but seemed like just white metal. Of course it instantly broke again and now I can't punch the thing out for the life of me. It's in my garage, well lit, holes should be lined up but it sounds and feels like I'm punching on a bench mounted vice. And the more I punch, the more scarred the shaft is getting so now I can't even tell where the **** broken bolt is.

Questions:
Are the shear bolt holes lined up exactly on both augers?
If I'm certain things are lined up, should I be more aggressive with the flat end punch and 4 pound hammer?

Thank you. Just got another 8 inches and two feet coming tomorrow (NH).

Edit: Thank you for all the replies (especially the fellow who said "you don't have it lined up" - that was the my issue, undoubtedly).

I got home after work and it took all of 45 seconds to punch it out. Maybe it was because I had some daylight instead of a headlamp, who knows. All cleared out ready for the storm they call Orson.

It is a wonderful thing to be at peace with your machines.

Last edited by takba; 02-11-2017 at 05:48 PM. Reason: problem solved
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 02-11-2017, 12:05 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 96
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 75
Likes (Received): 460
Garage
Not that you can do something about it now except on the good one, you should always grease your shear pins, preferably with synthetic grease and they should be removed and reinstalled annually.