Ariens Pro Re-Power - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 02-25-2017, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Atlantic Canada NB
Posts: 39
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 6
Likes (Given): 5
Likes (Received): 6
Ariens Pro Re-Power

Hi, I am looking to re power an Ariens Pro, 2008/2009, ST9526DLE model #926017. The blower came with a Techumseh OHV 318 cc.

I would like to go as large as possible (420cc). I have been chasing model numbers and serials for direct swaps. I know that the frame on mine and a few years forward are the same. It would be a direct swap for a B&S 16.5. I was hoping to use some other model #s with serials to see if the 420cc was ever put on the frame which mine has. I know that the new Pros have a different frame.

Anybody out there with a Pro from 2102, 2013 or 2014 with a 420 cc that I could use the model and serial number to see if the frame is the same as the one in which I own.

Thanks
mfrs2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 02-25-2017, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 494
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 40
Thanks (Received): 85
Likes (Given): 48
Likes (Received): 192
Garage
Don't drive yourself crazy with model and serial numbers, first check to see that is a single output shaft which I believe it would be on that machine. Meaning belts are only run off the crankshaft output, probably a 1 inch diameter shaft. Some models have two output shafts a smaller one for the transmission and a larger one for the augers. If you have a single output shaft, you have many options to repower that machine. Usually on motor swaps it is just a matter of a different bolt pattern in the chassis going from a smaller motor to a bigger one, possibly longer belts which you can get locally, and sometimes you can find a really good deal on a larger motor with a three-quarter inch shaft, in which case you just get a shaft adapter - 1 inch to fit your original pulley.
Post up a picture or two of your machine with the chute & controls, sometimes they might need to be modified.
If you are comfortable doing your own work, the members here will walk you through the process.
Good luck on your project.

Ariens 24" 910962 7HP
Ariens 24" 924117 Modified Pro 342cc / 15.50 GT.. Currently Under Construction and testing trials commenced .......
Ariens 32" 924044 Modified Pro 342cc / 16.50 GT
Ariens / Troy Bilt 36" Frankenblower 16HP
~~ And Lastly ~~
Ariens 28" 924??? Double auger & impeller 14HP v-twin BEAST !!!
Plans are being drafted, parts are accumulating in the pile......
Shaw351 is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 02-25-2017, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Near Ottawa Ont
Posts: 1,371
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 52
Thanks (Received): 85
Likes (Given): 27
Likes (Received): 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfrs2000 View Post
Hi, I am looking to re power an Ariens Pro, 2008/2009, ST9526DLE model #926017. The blower came with a Techumseh OHV 318 cc.

I would like to go as large as possible (420cc). I have been chasing model numbers and serials for direct swaps. I know that the frame on mine and a few years forward are the same. It would be a direct swap for a B&S 16.5. I was hoping to use some other model #s with serials to see if the 420cc was ever put on the frame which mine has. I know that the new Pros have a different frame.
At first look it might be a tight fit as mine was and it won't be a direct swap. Where the engine bolts on right now, is the frame square or has bevelled sides at the top and side where they meet? The pulleys will be an easy fit depending on the brand of engine contemplated such as length of main shaft.
Could you tell us where you live approx.?
Definitively not an impossible project but need some details first.

Good Luck

Norm

Snow Removal Apparatus I own:
Ariens ST1530DLE, and good ole arm powered scrapper.
The 15 HP is a new Ducar engine sold
by Princess Auto in Canada.

Last edited by Normex; 02-25-2017 at 07:11 PM.
Normex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome