LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 11-30-2012, 10:59 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
New Ariens Does Not Start

I bought an Ariens Deluxe 28 last year around Oct from a local dealer. Snowblower was delivered and the guy showed me how to started. Of course there would be no snow last year after I got the snowblower. This year I could not start it. Now I am not total newbie on gas powered equipment having a JD tractor and various gas powered tools. So I know how to start it.

Called the dealer they told me it's not covered by warranty. They're saying the carberator probably need to be cleaned but did not quote me a price. $75 pick up and delivery.

So what should I do folks? There must be tons of people bought a snowblower last year and did not use. The whole point of getting it from the dealer is to get the service etc now I am feeling totally ripped off.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 11-30-2012, 11:10 PM
Super Moderator

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 61
Thanks (Received): 351
Likes (Given): 150
Likes (Received): 784
well, did you drain the gas this past spring and store it dry over the summer?
if no, then unfortunately the dealer is right..they wont cover that because they would consider it "your fault" that it doesn't start..all dealers would do the same.

If you did leave old gas in it all summer, did you drain it all out and fill it with fresh gas this fall? if not, that needs to be step 1 to get it started again..

leaving in old gas in it all summer isnt necessarily a problem by itself..I do it myself..
(I do it so gaskets wont dry out..)
but you have to make sure you drain it all out in the fall and replace with fresh gas..
that is key..you cant expect it to start on year-old gas..especially these days with the ethanol..
the ethanol is really causing issues..gas doesnt last long anymore. some say even a month
or two and its no good..