Engine swap - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 Old 12-31-2012, 12:16 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Engine swap

Hello !

Newbi here, although not new to Ariens blowers. I have a '71 Ariens that I have had since my dad bought it new. Its a great machine, and I want to continue to use it - its the only machine I have ever used - but it developed a problem and I dont have time to track it down. While clearing the driveway the other day the engine lost power and began to backfire and pop back through the carb and eventually stalled. Now it wont run. I'm figuring it is probably something to do with the intake valve, but I just dont have the time to get after it.

Does anyone know of a direct bolt on replacement engine ? I tried the search feature but didnt see a specific engine the would bolt in place of the H70 Tecumseh thats on there.

Thanks for the help
RocketPower is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 Old 12-31-2012, 07:54 AM
Senior Member
 
69ariens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: framingham, MA Gilford,nh
Posts: 1,033
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 18
Thanks (Received): 38
Likes (Given): 53
Likes (Received): 100
First off welcome to the site. There are lot's of engines you can put on your 71 the bad news is all the new engines you have to cut the studs out that hold the engine to the tractor and put longer bolts in. You might also have to relocate the chute control handle. The good news is it well worth it... I put a 9.5 brigg's intek on my 69 ariens and the base of the engine was biger so i had to drill a new set of holes. Smaller engines like 208 cc have the same mounting holes. Measure your you crank shaft , that way you can keep your pulley. A good source for engines is small engine warehouse or nothern tool. Another option is to look for an old engine 6 or 7 hp on craigs list that has the thin base that would be just a bolt on.

Scott
69 ariens
toro 721r
toro 926 hd oxe
78 powerking 1614/48'' haban snowblower
69ariens is offline  
post #3 of 28 Old 12-31-2012, 09:01 AM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
See this thread for some options:
https://www.snowblowerforum.com/forum...ere-526-a.html

Also, I would use a sledge hammer to knock the studs out. It doesn't take much effort so don't kill it. I just held a 5 pound sledge above the studs on mine (handle straight up) and basically dropped it. The old studs pop right out and you don't have to worry about cutting or drilling.
Shryp is offline  
post #4 of 28 Old 12-31-2012, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 697
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 10
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 35
Not sure which one you have but my 77 924 series had studs for the 7hp and also holes for a bigger engine. I knocked 2 of the studs out as previously described and a 10HP HM100 bolted right on. Same crank diameter and the belt guard and cover worked perfect.
nt40lanman is offline  
post #5 of 28 Old 12-31-2012, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
69ariens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: framingham, MA Gilford,nh
Posts: 1,033
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 18
Thanks (Received): 38
Likes (Given): 53
Likes (Received): 100
I am also using the belt cover from my 5hp / pulley on my 9.5 hp intek with no mods.

Scott
69 ariens
toro 721r
toro 926 hd oxe
78 powerking 1614/48'' haban snowblower
69ariens is offline  
post #6 of 28 Old 12-31-2012, 03:52 PM
Senior Member
 
td5771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: long island ny
Posts: 1,118
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 27
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 57
I am all for swapping out engines if needed but how about just checking the points and condenser first? points would only be about an hour or two to change them out, and cheap. any idea when they were done last?

Or a simple compression test, if the valve is bent or sticking open you wont have any compression.
td5771 is offline  
post #7 of 28 Old 01-01-2013, 08:06 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Funny thing about the points - I dont know that they have ever been changed ! It was kinda strange for the engine to be running fine for about 30 minutes and then start to pop and backfire a lot. Most of it coming through the carb. If I can find some time I'm gonna check the points.

I think it is something to do with timing. I can feel compression when I pull the starter, so maybe its not an intake valve. I would like to keep it as original as I can.
RocketPower is offline  
post #8 of 28 Old 01-03-2013, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
69ariens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: framingham, MA Gilford,nh
Posts: 1,033
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 18
Thanks (Received): 38
Likes (Given): 53
Likes (Received): 100
Could be the coil too.

Scott
69 ariens
toro 721r
toro 926 hd oxe
78 powerking 1614/48'' haban snowblower
69ariens is offline  
post #9 of 28 Old 01-06-2013, 09:35 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Well I took the path of least resistance and went ahead and swapped out the Tecumseh for a Predator 212. I really need to have the machine running and ready to go.

It went pretty smooth, I absolutely hated knocking out the mounting studs. I do want to put it all back to original someday. But for $95.00 you cant beat it.

I'm thinking of using some body shims to change the angle on the chute crank. Right now I have it off and am using a pair of welding vice grips to lock the chute in position.

Thanks for the help
RocketPower is offline  
post #10 of 28 Old 01-06-2013, 10:42 PM
Senior Member
 
69ariens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: framingham, MA Gilford,nh
Posts: 1,033
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 18
Thanks (Received): 38
Likes (Given): 53
Likes (Received): 100
Great to hear your up and running . It would be a good idea to remove the air cleaner. Let us know how you like it.

Scott
69 ariens
toro 721r
toro 926 hd oxe
78 powerking 1614/48'' haban snowblower
69ariens is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome