LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-19-2018, 10:42 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 3
Likes (Received): 0
Metal fuel tank liner flaking

Hi everyone - newbie here. A few years back I purchased a brand spanking new Ariens 28 Deluxe from the local hardware store. I haven't used it as much as I figured I would thanks to minimal snow fall, but over the course of the past 4 winters, I've used it a handful of times each year. It's still shiny and looks brand new. Unfortunately, I have had to take it in to have the carbs cleaned every year because the Briggs metal gas tank appears to have a coating that is flaking off inside. I am considering purchasing a new replacement tank, but I am wondering if this is common. Do I just have a defective tank, or will this just happen again? Seems like a plastic tank would be better than a metal tank, but I can't find a plastic tank that would be a suitable replacement.

Any help or advice would be fantastic. Thanks in advance and I apologize if this has been covered on a previous thread.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-19-2018, 11:57 AM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 89
Thanks (Received): 180
Likes (Given): 69
Likes (Received): 409
Garage
Search eBay or Amazon for gas tank relining kits. Normally it's a 3 step process, cleaning, etching, lining. You pour the stuff in and swirl it around.

1986 Ariens ST522, 5hp, 22"
1995 Murray Craftsman 10hp, 29" w. 12" impeller
A 1983 Real John Deere 10hp, 32" w. 12" impeller, 16" auger, 20" high front, cast iron gear box, chains
Noma 9hp, 27" w. 12" impeller
Noma 5hp, 24" w. 12" impeller, 20" high front
Gravely Convertible, 12hp Kohler cast iron, 26" width, 600 lbs of cast iron & steel, 2 speed impeller, 4 ground speeds
Dynamark 8hp, 26", 12" impeller, for sale
Several other 5hp, 8hp, several 2 cycle, all for sale
Old 03-19-2018, 12:21 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 54
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 153