Carb rebuild Kit? - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 09-20-2018, 06:40 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
RLange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 34
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 4
Likes (Received): 2
Carb rebuild Kit?

Having some trouble locating at carb rebuild kit for my 932105.(8526) Tec engine LHE318SA.
Engine Family 4TPXS.3182BF. Tried searching by the engine number but I am not seeing it. What kit do I need and which numbers do i need to find it? This carb has no adjustment on the bottom of bowl but has the drain.
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180916_131541.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	105.9 KB
ID:	146779  

932105
932020
RLange is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 09-20-2018, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northville NY - Southern Adirondack Mtns.
Posts: 1,351
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 88
Likes (Given): 23
Likes (Received): 218
Why do you think you need a kit ? I would first take it apart, and clean everything, reassemble and run it. Most likely just some dirt/crud in the passages, and not parts needed. That's been my experience - 90% of the time.


What are the symptoms ?
RIT333 is online now  
post #3 of 14 Old 09-20-2018, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Jackmels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ma.
Posts: 2,038
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 108
Thanks (Received): 164
Likes (Given): 347
Likes (Received): 645
Don't waste Your Time. Slap on a repop adjustable one.$12 delivered. https://www.ebay.com/itm/Adjustable-...item41d4c0ddf5
Jackmels is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Grunt liked this post
post #4 of 14 Old 09-20-2018, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
JLawrence08648's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lawrenceville NJ
Posts: 2,143
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 89
Thanks (Received): 178
Likes (Given): 69
Likes (Received): 409
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by RIT333 View Post
Why do you think you need a kit ? I would first take it apart, and clean everything, reassemble and run it. Most likely just some dirt/crud in the passages, and not parts needed. That's been my experience - 90% of the time.

What are the symptoms ?
90% of the time? That's low and I'm sure you are being conservative.

I agree with RIT333, a rebuild kit is seldom necessary. Take the carb apart, soaking it in a carb solution dunk tank is best, if not, use carb cleaner. You either have crude or old gas that has turned into varnish. Clean the needle valves with fine steel wool or fine sandpaper. About the only time you need a rebuild kit is for a float inlet valve that is not sealing and leaking gas, on a rare occasion new needle valves.

1986 Ariens ST522, 5hp, 22"
1995 Murray Craftsman 10hp, 29" w. 12" impeller
A 1983 Real John Deere 10hp, 32" w. 12" impeller, 16" auger, 20" high front, cast iron gear box, chains
Noma 9hp, 27" w. 12" impeller
Noma 5hp, 24" w. 12" impeller, 20" high front
Gravely Convertible, 12hp Kohler cast iron, 26" width, 600 lbs of cast iron & steel, 2 speed impeller, 4 ground speeds
Dynamark 8hp, 26", 12" impeller, for sale
Several other 5hp, 8hp, several 2 cycle, all for sale
JLawrence08648 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 09-20-2018, 11:53 AM
Senior Member
 
1132le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: ma
Posts: 1,160
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 28
Thanks (Received): 83
Likes (Given): 60
Likes (Received): 190
Garage
Its very easy to pull that apart clean it out and reinstall under 15 min if you have done it before
It would serve you well to learn how to do this as well as other things on the blower
Long before jack was buying new carbs for 12 he was cleaning them in 10 to 15 min and having it fixed 95% of the time
Here is a vid to go by very easy
Order the 12 dollar carb for backup



Last edited by 1132le; 09-20-2018 at 11:55 AM.
1132le is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes RLange liked this post
post #6 of 14 Old 09-20-2018, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: bolton, ont(north of toronto)
Posts: 782
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 56
Thanks (Received): 62
Likes (Given): 51
Likes (Received): 148
use a good and strong carb cleaner if its real crusty, might need to do it more than once if your new to this and miss a couple of little holes that werent cleaned.
but....a clone can be almost as cheap as a good can of carb clean, and if u get both u got really nothing to lose except the wait time for the carb to come from china.
ymmv, i needed a bowl gasket, bought a complete carb clone for my tec and the only issue i had with the clone was the gasket, was almost as bad as the 30yr old one i was replacing. and one minor issue was the 2 holes for the mounting bracket werent threaded.
both carbs run about the same especially once i cleaned the old carb thoroughly, and the cracks in the bowl gasket seal nicely once tightened up by the bowl nut.

Bought a dead but now fixed 1980ish craftsman II 10/28....ITS ONE HEAVY BEAST

MY VIDS ON FIXIN HER UP

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by vinnycom; 09-20-2018 at 12:08 PM.
vinnycom is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 09-20-2018, 07:35 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
RLange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 34
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 4
Likes (Received): 2
I would at least need a bowl and intake gasket if I disassembled it,no?

932105
932020
RLange is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 09-20-2018, 08:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 1,750
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 71
Thanks (Received): 168
Likes (Given): 63
Likes (Received): 580
I have a five gallon bucket of Tecumseh Carbs that need cleaning.....I won't unless the Chinese stop selling great new carbs for $12......and I usually spend more then 15 minutes cleaning a carb...and sometimes it takes 2 or 3 times to get it right....that includes cleaning and remounting and taking apart again...........if it's an emergency...clean it if not new carb.......I always have on hand carbs for the 7 hp and for the 8-10 hp......when I run low order three of each more.
cranman is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes RLange liked this post
post #9 of 14 Old 09-20-2018, 09:35 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
RLange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 34
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 4
Likes (Received): 2
Done deal. Ordered one and will clean and shelf the tec carb.

932105
932020
RLange is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes sock-feet liked this post
post #10 of 14 Old 09-21-2018, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: North Dallas area and UP of MI, average snowfall 202"
Posts: 724
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 16
Thanks (Received): 66
Likes (Given): 59
Likes (Received): 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLange View Post
I would at least need a bowl and intake gasket if I disassembled it,no?

No. Unless they get damaged when you remove them, gaskets are typically reusable.
tadawson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome