forgot to turn my new Platinum SHO 24 to the run position!! - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-29-2019, 08:27 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 41
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 2
forgot to turn my new Platinum SHO 24 to the run position!!

Hope I didn't do any damage to the engine running it so rich for at least several minutes. I simply forgot about turning it to run instead of the full choke position...first time I used it. Careless mistake so hope that no serious harm was done. I had wondered why I wasn't getting more throttle! I'd say at the most I used it for 10 minutes that way - at full throttle position too.
three4rd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-29-2019, 08:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lowell area, MA
Posts: 3,246
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 118
Thanks (Received): 277
Likes (Given): 358
Likes (Received): 633
You should be fine. At most it might foul the spark plug some, but I doubt it's a problem. If it suddenly doesn't want to run, you could pull the spark plug and clean it, but I doubt it would come to that.

Ariens 1024 Pro
Toro Power Clear 221QR
Toro Power Curve 1800
RedOctobyr is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes gibbs296 liked this post
post #3 of 7 Old 01-29-2019, 08:41 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 41
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 2
My bad...starving the poor thing for air! Thanks for the prompt reply. I ran it again about 20 minutes later after done blowing - seemed fine. Just hate to have done something wrong the first time I used it!
three4rd is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-29-2019, 09:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lowell area, MA
Posts: 3,246
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 118
Thanks (Received): 277
Likes (Given): 358
Likes (Received): 633
Well, if you're too concerned about it, lemme know. I'll trade ya my ol.... I mean, *well-tested* Ariens, which has never been run in that terrible manner! And I'll get that poor abused machine out of your way

Enjoy it!

Ariens 1024 Pro
Toro Power Clear 221QR
Toro Power Curve 1800
RedOctobyr is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-29-2019, 09:26 PM
Member
 
Cold1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 63
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 7
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 9
No worries - you didn't hurt anything. Running with the choke on just causes the engine to run very rich which will waste some gas, but that's about it. As RedOctobyr said, if it ran rich long enough, it could possibly foul the plug, but that's minor and not very likely.

Ariens Deluxe 28 SHO

Touch Not A Catt Bot A Targe
Cold1 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-30-2019, 12:07 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 41
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedOctobyr View Post
Well, if you're too concerned about it, lemme know. I'll trade ya my ol.... I mean, *well-tested* Ariens, which has never been run in that terrible manner! And I'll get that poor abused machine out of your way

Enjoy it!
LOL...hey...how about this...I'll trade your well-tested machine for my '68 Bolens (Ariens 10,000 series)...50 years old and still runs!
three4rd is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-30-2019, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada eh
Posts: 1,013
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 48
Likes (Given): 56
Likes (Received): 168
i do it all the time with my machine since it don't have a throttle but if you turn the choke on it idles low enough to have a conversation with someone. still seems to be running pretty good.

arien 520 snow blower 6.5hp swap
yardworks 31AH6WKF515
crazzywolfie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome