Ariens 1024 Woes and couldn't come at a worse time! - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 01-31-2019, 08:34 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Ariens 1024 Woes and couldn't come at a worse time!

Hello Everyone,

Newbie here from "Sunny" Buffalo NY. I have an Ariens 1024 I bought new many years ago. Aside from some cosmetic wear I've gone out of my way to maintain the machine all these years. Sadly, she's having issues now that are tough to diagnose for a newbie. Last season she was plagued with an idle surge issue. After some research I found this video on youtube

I followed the instructions and voila! Problem solved! Holes were blocked solid and after cleaning them out I figured I was good to go. She idles wondefully and I revelled in my victory confident she was ready for this winter. I couldn't have been more wrong.

Now there's a new problem. She takes awhile to warm up and if I turn off the choke to fast and increase the throttle she backfires and sparks out of the exhaust. If I'm patient and give her five minutes to warm up she comes up just fine after that UNTIL I get rolling! After maybe 5 minutes of blowing snow she starts losing power, boggs down and stalls under load. I've checked for blockages and debris and everything including the impeller will turn freely by hand. She fires right back up and idles like a dream then the same thing happens after a few minutes. I even loosened the gas cap to make sure she wasn't vacuum or vapor locking and it made no difference whatsoever.

The carb has never been rebuilt and I'm hoping someone might have an idea of what's going on or what I can try to address this. We're getting buried here so any help or advice is most appreciated!

Thank You!

Last edited by Bloodhound1941; 01-31-2019 at 08:49 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 01-31-2019, 08:45 PM

Post Thanks / Like