LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-28-2019, 10:33 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
Autoturn difficulties

I have a 10-12 year old Ariens classic 8526 snowblower model 926013. It came with a trigger on left handle for engaging positraction. Well that axle and differential gear failed so the Ariens dealer suggested that machine was eligible to be retrofitted to latest autoturn axle and differential gear P/N 72600900 if I remember correctly. So I purchased the retrofit kit and installed it last fall. All went very smoothly. Well we just got our first snowfall enough to try this out and I am extremely disappointed at how difficult it is to keep this machine moving forward. It pulls to the left so violently that itís almost not usable.

I have been working on my own blowers as well as neighbors for 20 years (mostly John Deere).

These are are the steps I have taken so far:

Installed new retrofit axle and differential gear complete with new bushings and bearings everywhere needed.
Replaced all auger and impeller bearings while blower was off machine..
Squared the blower box on a concrete floor to the frame of the machine after inflating tires to 15psi.
Installed new belts
Installed new skids. Adjusted so scraper is 1/4 off concrete floor.

Canít think of anything I missed in this retrofit project.

I searched the forum but didnít find anybody else that has similar problems with the pulling to the left.

Any ideas will be greatly appreciated.

This machine is solid. Always stored indoors. No rust. Engine purrs like a kitten at 3600 rpmís. Been very well maintained..

Thanks for any help at all.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 02-28-2019, 11:44 AM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 118
Thanks (Received): 277
Likes (Given): 358
Likes (Received): 633