Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 Old 09-17-2019, 10:10 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
enigma-2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 266
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 18
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 37
Gas Gauge

One of the biggest annoyances on the Ariens snowblower is the lack of a gas gauge.

Not only is there no gas gauge, they stick this crappy, cheap, plastic, tight-fitting gas filter in the inlet. Theres no way you can pull this little out to check how much gas is still in the tank unless you take off your gloves and squeeze two fat fingers on the (wait for it) "handle"; to pull it out.

And then the tiny, red thingy breaks loose and pops out, leaving the filter tightly resting in place, taunting you. "You'll never get me out, buthead", it coos quietly. And then proceeds to weld itself into the tank fill opening like a tick in a deer's butt.

Anyway, has anyone figured out what has gauge will work on the current Ariens snowblowers? I would imagine all of the tanks are the same size.

2014 Ariens 24" Platinum
2010 Yard Machines 600 Series, 24" w/179cc MTD engine
Toro CCR 3650 GTS
Troy Bilt 521OR w/Tecu HSSK50 engine

Last edited by sscotsman; 09-18-2019 at 03:40 PM. Reason: guage corrected to gauge. also, no swearing please.
enigma-2 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 Old 09-18-2019, 01:42 AM
Senior Member
 
ST1100A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Northeast, Easton, Pa
Posts: 318
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 19
Thanks (Received): 58
Likes (Given): 118
Likes (Received): 64
That's that little strainer screen to keep dirt out of the tank when you remove the cap to fill it. They don't want you to remove it. They are a pain in the anus to get out. Usually they break when they are being removed.
It costs too much money for Ariens to put a fuel gauge on the tank. Your better more expensive machines usually have the gauge built in to the tank.
ST1100A is offline  
post #3 of 29 Old 09-18-2019, 06:16 AM
Senior Member
 
oneacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 425
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 35
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 86
Just top it off before you snow blow ........ I have never needed a fuel gauge on any of my small machines.
oneacer is online now  
post #4 of 29 Old 09-18-2019, 07:52 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 24
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 2
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 3
I have removed the strainer altogether and top it off before and after each use. I just don't like this cap design period.
Badger9402 is offline  
post #5 of 29 Old 09-18-2019, 08:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 294
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 23
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 67
No strainer on my Pro, but still no gauge. With the big tank, it would be nice to not have to pull the cap to check fuel level before startup as it doesn't need filling with every use.
rslifkin is online now  
post #6 of 29 Old 09-18-2019, 03:22 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
enigma-2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 266
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 18
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 37
About what I expected.

Topping off doesn't work (as if I don't do this already) when you're down the street doing a neighbor's drive way.

My question was, has anyone found a cap with gauge replacement. Certainly I'm not the only one who's ever wanted one? Would make a great aftermarket sales item. $25? I'd pay it.

I had enough of the p.o.a. screen and pitched it. It was torn on the bottom corner anyway, not the best quality.

I've currently tried three caps (with gauges) but haven't found one that can screw on.

The quest begins.

2014 Ariens 24" Platinum
2010 Yard Machines 600 Series, 24" w/179cc MTD engine
Toro CCR 3650 GTS
Troy Bilt 521OR w/Tecu HSSK50 engine
enigma-2 is online now  
post #7 of 29 Old 09-18-2019, 03:37 PM
Super Moderator
 
sscotsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NY, USA
Posts: 3,661
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 61
Thanks (Received): 336
Likes (Given): 148
Likes (Received): 763
I have never seen a gas gauge on any snowblower..ever.
If they exist at all they are exceedingly rare, probably 1% or less of all snowblowers ever made..perhaps some high-end Hondas maybe, but they are definitely the exception, not the rule.


So im a bit confused about the point of this whole thread.
yes, its true Ariens snowblowers dont have gas gauges..
but neither does anyone else..


Scot


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by sscotsman; 09-18-2019 at 03:42 PM.
sscotsman is online now  
post #8 of 29 Old 09-18-2019, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northville NY - Southern Adirondack Mtns.
Posts: 1,328
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 88
Likes (Given): 23
Likes (Received): 216
Scot, you may want to look at Honda snowblowers. The 8/9s with electric start have a gauge, and I think all of the 12/13s have one.
RIT333 is online now  
post #9 of 29 Old 09-18-2019, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
ST1100A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Northeast, Easton, Pa
Posts: 318
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 19
Thanks (Received): 58
Likes (Given): 118
Likes (Received): 64
All your Honda's have them built in to the gas tank. They always have.
ST1100A is offline  
post #10 of 29 Old 09-18-2019, 03:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northville NY - Southern Adirondack Mtns.
Posts: 1,328
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 88
Likes (Given): 23
Likes (Received): 216
Just looked at eBay and for about $15 you can get a gauge integrated into the gas cap.
RIT333 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome