Bolts to hold chute on ST1032 no longer available. - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-24-2019, 12:19 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Shortlid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 7
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
Bolts to hold chute on ST1032 no longer available.

Went to local Ariens dealer. They stated the 12-24 hex head bolts that hold the chute on the machine are obsolete. No longer available. Looked at four local hardware stores faster selection. Only screws in that size. Not enough torque can be applied to a philips head to mount it correctly?
Shortlid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-24-2019, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
oneacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 655
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 49
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 144
... I just go over to my nut and bolt drawer ... But not everyone has that, and has to run to the hardware store.


I would just use what fits, and properly attach it.
oneacer is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-24-2019, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Grunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: New Lenox
Posts: 1,999
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 248
Thanks (Received): 288
Likes (Given): 2901
Likes (Received): 537
#12 bolts are available from other sources.
https://www.fmwfasteners.com/product...SABEgI-evD_BwE


If the bolts have nuts on them, I would just drill out the holes and use 1/4" x20 nuts and bolts OR drill the holes and re-tap to 1/4"x20 if no nuts are used.

Toro 8/24 (38080) 1989
Toro 721-QZR (38743) 2015 (Hemi Predator Power)

Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Grunt is online now  
post #4 of 5 Old 10-24-2019, 04:15 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Shortlid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 7
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
They screw into specialty brackets on other side of lip on bucket.
Shortlid is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-26-2019, 09:17 AM
Senior Member
 
oneacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 655
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 49
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 144
So take the bracket to the hardware section, or better yet go to a special fastener place like Fastenal. Most areas have such fastener places, or even some auto supply places.
oneacer is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome