LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 11-24-2019, 07:51 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 2
Likes (Given): 3
Likes (Received): 3
1980 ST724 New Owner Questions

I recently picked up my first blower, a 1980 ST724 from the original owner. I was told it hadn't been run for 10 years, so needless to say I had to go through the carb and do a few things to it to get it into shape.

I've been plowing my driveway for the last 15 years with an ATV, but a recent job change has me working every time it snows, so I usually come home to whatever amount of snow has fallen from the latest storm for me to plow with my ATV. This last year was rather brutal with over 100" for the season and a few 12" storms that my ATV struggled to plow. I borrowed a new Ariens 30" blower that made quick work of the big snowfalls, in fact quicker than I could clear it with my ATV, which got me to finally break down and get a blower.

My question is: will this blower work alright for major snowfalls like this or is it too small? I live in northern Wisconsin so most of the snow we get is usually more on the dry side, but we go get some wet heavy stuff on occasion. My driveway is flat, paved, and about 100' long.

I know a guy who works at an Ariens dealer, and he said the blower I got isn't going to throw the snow very far due to the chute design. I've seen mention that I can put a taller chute on it from a different model; would it be worth it? If so, what models are compatible? I really don't need to throw the snow more than 25' or so, but I also don't like it blowing into my face. I already did the impeller mod.

I've checked the unit over and lubed everything on it. Is there anything I should be on the lookout for that is a common failure point on these units? It seems to be in pretty decent shape, and I would like to keep it that way.

1980 Ariens ST724
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes KennyW in CT liked this post
Sponsored Links