LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 11-26-2019, 01:01 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 2
1332LE chute issue

I've been fighting this issue for a couple years now and need to get it fixed before we are knee deep in snow. I have a 1332 LE blower that the chute won't stay in place where I direct it. It will on the far left but not the rest. I've taken it apart and have looked at the parts diagram. When I assemble it per the diagram the spring does nothing. Does it hook to some place to help bring the locking arm in to the gear? It's not clear on the diagram and as assembled it does nothing to help hold the chute. I've searched the forum but can't seen to find the answer or this question in general. Any help would be great.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 11-26-2019, 04:52 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 66
Thanks (Received): 123
Likes (Given): 114
Likes (Received): 157
Garage
I am not familiar with the Ariens 1332LE but my Platinum 30 SHO has a quick shift chute with a locking arm. Attached are pics of my locking assembly and the relevant parts diagram. If that is similar to yours then perhaps I can help.

Note that part #8 is the twin blade locking lever, that can get bent if the chute is hit hard (in my case a rail of a handicapped ramp). When the twin blade locking lever is bent so the blades are not parallel then the lock will not function properly as you describe. You should be able to see if the locking lever actually engages the lock ring gears as you move the chute around.

Good luck.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Chute locking lever spring mount.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	283.3 KB
ID:	159689   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ariens Platinum chute control parts.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	151.8 KB
ID:	159691  

2015 Ariens Platinum 30 SHO - model 921040
post #3 of 12 Old 11-26-2019, 05:06 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 32