Aftermarket Belts too small? - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 12-06-2019, 04:47 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Kennebunk Maine
Posts: 62
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 4
Likes (Given): 5
Likes (Received): 22
Aftermarket Belts too small?

Needed a new belt for my 1332 so i got this Stens belt, corresponds to the correct Ariens part #, but it is Wayyy to small(short). Tried several times but it does not seem like it is going to go on. I am going to the dealer tomorrow to try an OEM belt but just hate to drive 45 minutes away. Just seeing if anyone has had a similar issue with aftermarket belts

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Nick Karahalios is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 12-06-2019, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Somewhere in Michigan.
Posts: 121
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 10
Likes (Given): 51
Likes (Received): 48
Garage
You can order OEM belts online,(EBAY , AMAZON, ..etc.) it would save you a trip, and even save a few bucks from buying at dealer.

HEY LASERLIPS, YOUR MAMA WAS A SNOWBLOWER!!!

2017 Sno-Tek
1995 Chevy K1500
1990 John Deere Hydro 175
88-tek is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 12-06-2019, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: bolton, ont(north of toronto)
Posts: 871
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 59
Thanks (Received): 72
Likes (Given): 58
Likes (Received): 183
some auto parts stores have a measuring tool for belts or just try to measure it yourself, inside diameter. buy a few in that range and return the ones that dont fit.
or bring old one with u to compare

Bought a dead but now fixed 1980ish craftsman II 10/28....ITS ONE HEAVY BEAST

MY VIDS ON FIXIN HER UP

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

vinnycom is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 12-06-2019, 06:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 638
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 52
Likes (Given): 44
Likes (Received): 71
Ariens use odd sizes, usually 1/4 in different between what aftermarket says fits.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
e.fisher26 is online now  
post #5 of 13 Old 12-06-2019, 07:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 157
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 14
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 24
If that is the drive belt, then yes, it is not 35" like they said. It is 35" something. Could even be 36"-37". It is also wider than what they listed. I don't know why they listed it that way. Maybe to get you buy their belt.

You could still put the aftermarket ones on, but a lot of time, they don't fit properly (hard to put them on) and would have small issues.

I was there so I know.
dman2 is online now  
post #6 of 13 Old 12-06-2019, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 157
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 14
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 24
There is a specific way to put the belt on without stretching it (forcing it in). You will have to find that howto video on Youtube by yourself.
dman2 is online now  
post #7 of 13 Old 12-07-2019, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lawrenceville NJ
Posts: 2,300
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 97
Thanks (Received): 197
Likes (Given): 76
Likes (Received): 463
Garage
Any belt that comes off, I measure it using a tailor's tape, then compare it to the length of the recommended belt. My preferred belts are Pix, D&D.

1986 Ariens ST522, 5hp, 22"
1995 Murray Craftsman 10hp, 29" w. 12" impeller
A 1983 Real John Deere 10hp, 32" w. 12" impeller, 16" auger, 20" high front, cast iron gear box, chains
Noma 9hp, 27" w. 12" impeller
Noma 5hp, 24" w. 12" impeller, 20" high front
Gravely Convertible, 12hp Kohler cast iron, 26" width, 600 lbs of cast iron & steel, 2 speed impeller, 4 ground speeds
Dynamark 8hp, 26", 12" impeller, for sale
Several other 5hp, 8hp, several 2 cycle, all for sale
JLawrence08648 is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Shovel liked this post
post #8 of 13 Old 12-07-2019, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,662
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 150
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 543
Needing belts is rare for me, but my go to belt is the Gates Green Power Rated. I always keep a Gates 6836 on hand, as that is a common one for my machines. Many here also use the Kevlar Blue.
oneacer is online now  
post #9 of 13 Old 12-07-2019, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Merrimac Valley - Massachusetts
Posts: 765
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 67
Thanks (Received): 60
Likes (Given): 115
Likes (Received): 81
I recently had a similar issue with an aftermarket auger belt. You measure the belt by it's outside circumference. As stated above a taylor's tape measure makes the job easy. I usually measure it two or three times to make sure it did not slip. You can go to an auto parts store or a store like Tractor Supply and buy utility belts in 3/8 or 1/2" widths and in varying lengths. But it is likely the OEM length is not an even number. If it is for the auger I would just get the oem and be done. For the tractor drive I often have had good luck with the Blue Kevlar or the utility belts off the shelf at TSC. They are not as a demanding application and the tensioner can make up for some slight differences.

Current machines
Ariens 926LE

Yard Machine 22" upgraded with 6.5 HP Predator
Toro-8-2-4 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 12-07-2019, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,662
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 150
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 543
@toro,

You bring up a good point that not many mention, and that is the adjustment on most tension idler pulleys, which if the belt is slightly off in size, due to wear or wrong size, many times a slight adjustment at the idler will be enough to correct that. You just have to remember, if you ever change that belt again in the future, you may have to readjust that tension idler pulley.
oneacer is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome