RapidTrak Pro 28 Belt Shredding - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-22-2020, 05:41 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
RapidTrak Pro 28 Belt Shredding

I just purchased a RapidTrak Pro 28. During my initial startup everything appeared normal, until I stepped away from the matching and noticed that I had a handful of pieces of belt under the machine. I removed that back cover plate and nothing jumped out at me, other than there's a lot of belt dust! Anyone have any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

Image at:
https://www.accentalarms.com/images/...m/IMG_2992.jpg
AccentSean is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-22-2020, 06:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: West slope of Colorado
Posts: 55
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 9
Thanks (Received): 6
Likes (Given): 42
Likes (Received): 18
Bummer to hear that!

My first thought is that the "attachment clutch cable" is too tight. Mine was a bit tight on my Pro Hydro RapidTrak 28 (but not tight enough to shred the belts luckily).

The attachment clutch is just the Ariens term for the cable that engages the auger/impeller. It can be easily adjusted as per the instructions on page 19 of https://apache.ariens.com/manuals/05136500C_ENG.pdf

That would be what I would check first. I hope this helps!
ericr is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-22-2020, 07:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northville NY - Southern Adirondack Mtns.
Posts: 1,478
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 97
Likes (Given): 42
Likes (Received): 259
Actually, that doesn't look too bad. Check to see if the pulley is centered withing the idler pulley. If it is, then it is probably just break-in "dust". But, keep on eye on it...just in case !
RIT333 is online now  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-23-2020, 05:59 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Could be friction disc dust as well. The track units can be hard on the disc
44964712 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-23-2020, 07:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 73
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 12
Thanks (Received): 13
Likes (Given): 54
Likes (Received): 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by 44964712 View Post
Could be friction disc dust as well. The track units can be hard on the disc
RapidTrak Pro's are all hydro drive.
kimber is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome