Gas fill - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 03-12-2014, 04:06 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 333
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 21
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 53
Gas fill

Got my new Ariens 24" Platinum yesterday and after I fixed what the dealer screwed up (chute wouldn't rotate full way), we just got clobbered with around 8" of wet & heavy snow. So this was the first time I filled it up with gas and I noticed something I didn't like.

In my old snowblowers, I inserted a funnel, and was able to pour the gas in without caring about spilling. But on the new Ariens, there's some type of insidious plug which prevents the use of a funnel.

I know, "say it isn't so" but they did. Now I use the old style gas containers and when full, the gas starts to leap to it's freedom just around the time I've got the spout about level. This results in gas splashing all over the top of the blower; hence, the need for a funnel.

So, before I rip this little party-pooper out of the top of my new gas tank, I thought I would write in as ask how the rest of you are refueling.

Has anyone found a funnel that will work and defeat the evil Ariens engineers sick joke, or did you end up yanking the contraption out?

(You know, we can go too far with this safety crap.)

2014 Ariens 24" Platinum
2010 Yard Machines 600 Series, 24" w/179cc MTD engine
Toro CCR 3650 GTS
Troy Bilt 521OR w/Tecu HSSK50 engine
enigma-2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 03-12-2014, 04:31 PM
Member
 
Vailen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 52
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 4
Garage
I have never heard of this problem before. Can you post a pic?

Ariens Hydro Pro Track 32 (#926514)
Vailen is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 03-12-2014, 04:50 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,841
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 588
Thanks (Received): 769
Likes (Given): 4353
Likes (Received): 1736
Garage
I got lazy this year and bought a D battery powered fuel transfer pump ($15 ??). It's really handy not having to lift gas cans and it flows at a rate you can easily monitor and shut off before you over fill. I have it in a wagon so I can wheel it to my mowers.
Waiting for warmer weather and will find a way to permanent mount it in one of the gas cans so I don't have to pull it out each time it's used.
.

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 03-12-2014, 05:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Blaine, Mn
Posts: 127
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
My gas cans have a built in spout.
My 2014 Ariens Deluxe has a removeable screened basket but I don't bother with removing it.
MnJim is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 03-12-2014, 05:42 PM
mkd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: midwest ,wisconsin
Posts: 132
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
i have the same screen inside my new deluxe 28" and can no longer use a five gallon can and funnel to fill the tank. i use a 2 1/2 gal. round metal tank that has a yellow plastic pour spout that has a 45 degree bend in it and is long enough to pour fuel into the tank without spilling over the machine. my tank also has a lip that directs gas off the tank and also diverts any spilled gas off the hot engine itself if you look at the base of your tank it probably has the same thing. i now pour gas from the five gallon can into the 2 1/2gal can by funnel and then fill the snowblower tank with only the yellow fill snout. my metal can has this pour spout on it and works very good for fueling the machine.

Last edited by mkd; 03-12-2014 at 05:57 PM.
mkd is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 03-12-2014, 06:11 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 333
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 21
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vailen View Post
I have never heard of this problem before. Can you post a pic?
Wish I could, I'm somewhat technically obsolete.
When you look into the gas fill opening, they've inserted sort of like a plastic "cup" with a bar across the center to prevent you from inserting a funnel into the tank when refilling. (And my funnel opening is only about a 1/2-inch in diameter, and it will not allow even that to be used.)

If fact, they specifically state in the owners manual, not to use a funnel when refilling! (Page 23). According to the manual, a funnel will "obstruct" your view of the tank when refueling. The reason given is that they don't want to the tank to be over-filled or it could damage the polution control devices. (Snort)

2014 Ariens 24" Platinum
2010 Yard Machines 600 Series, 24" w/179cc MTD engine
Toro CCR 3650 GTS
Troy Bilt 521OR w/Tecu HSSK50 engine
enigma-2 is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 03-12-2014, 06:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 93
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 5
If you are talking about the screen with the red plastic bar across the bottom that is removable, I take mine out fill up the tank and put it back, I think it is there to remove sediment from the fuel you are using to fill the tank. It wouldn't be all that bad if the new gas cans weren't so retarded, you need three hands to use these stupid things.

-Keith-
InfernoST is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 03-12-2014, 06:16 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 333
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 21
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkd View Post
i have the same screen inside my new deluxe 28" and can no longer use a five gallon can and funnel to fill the tank. i use a 2 1/2 gal. round metal tank that has a yellow plastic pour spout that has a 45 degree bend in it and is long enough to pour fuel into the tank without spilling over the machine. my tank also has a lip that directs gas off the tank and also diverts any spilled gas off the hot engine itself if you look at the base of your tank it probably has the same thing. i now pour gas from the five gallon can into the 2-1/2 gal can by funnel and then fill the snowblower tank with only the yellow fill snout. my metal can has this pour spout on it and works very good for fueling the machine.
Thanks. Was afraid that this is what's going to required.

2014 Ariens 24" Platinum
2010 Yard Machines 600 Series, 24" w/179cc MTD engine
Toro CCR 3650 GTS
Troy Bilt 521OR w/Tecu HSSK50 engine

Last edited by enigma-2; 03-12-2014 at 06:41 PM.
enigma-2 is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 03-12-2014, 06:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: nw oh
Posts: 153
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
I have the same thing on my snow blower. I use a gas can with a spout. how did your snow blower perform? gayland
BB Cub is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 03-12-2014, 06:25 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 333
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 21
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by MnJim View Post
My gas cans have a built in spout.
My 2014 Ariens Deluxe has a removeable screened basket but I don't bother with removing it.
That's interesting, do you just pull it out without damaging it?

2014 Ariens 24" Platinum
2010 Yard Machines 600 Series, 24" w/179cc MTD engine
Toro CCR 3650 GTS
Troy Bilt 521OR w/Tecu HSSK50 engine
enigma-2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome