LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 01-14-2015, 04:56 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Raising handles?

I'm new to snowblowers in general, so if there's some common knowledge I'm obviously missing please tell me.

Just got a new-to-me #920014 Compact 24" and tried it out for the first time today. Two related problems immediately became apparent:

1) It doesn't scrape down as well as I'd expect. It has a tendency to ride up over icy snow instead of digging in. (When I get it digging in it handles it just fine).

2) The handles are too short. The handles sit just below mid-thigh, which means I have to stoop slightly to hold them. My back isn't happy.

I imagine the solutions are to add some front weights and manufacture some handle extensions, or perhaps get bigger tires. Thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 01-14-2015, 06:52 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 9
Likes (Given): 7
Likes (Received): 4
I believe any machine you have will ride up as yours is doing. I have heard some put weights on the auger housing, but don't know how well it works.

As for the handle height, we all suffer from that problem. I have seen some remedies for this online, but would not put them on my machine

Welcome aboard !!
post #3 of 12 Old 01-14-2015, 07:20 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 10
Thanks (Received): 18
Likes (Given): 9
Likes (Received): 54
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyP View Post
I believe any machine you have will ride up as yours is doing. I have heard some put weights on the auger housing, but don't know how well it works.

As for the handle height, we all suffer from that problem. I have seen some remedies for this online, but would not put them on my machine

Welcome aboard !!
Can you show a few of the remedy's for the handles?
Or throw a link?

I don't have a problem with my Craftsman but the Snow Bird's are a bit low.