ac vs dc on ariens snowblower - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-18-2015, 02:39 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
ac vs dc on ariens snowblower

Hi i had to replace the engine on my deluxe 30 the orignal engine is no longer avaliable. The replacement engine is dc current the orignal was ac current the replacement specs says 1.5a -dc. Will that run the headlight that came on the snowblower without any problems ??? THANKS TOM the replacement engine is a 21m314-0128f1
tallen4392 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-18-2015, 02:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Coby7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Magnetic Hill, New Brunswick Canada Average snowfall (111.0'')282.0cms
Posts: 2,639
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 93
Likes (Given): 25
Likes (Received): 570
Well that will supply an 18Watt bulb or less. Just check the wattage of your light bulb to make sure.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
''Never drive faster than your guardian ANGEL can fly''
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Coby7 is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-19-2015, 11:27 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
thanks if it is 18 or less it should be fine and not cause any problems ????
tallen4392 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 02-19-2015, 11:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Coby7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Magnetic Hill, New Brunswick Canada Average snowfall (111.0'')282.0cms
Posts: 2,639
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 93
Likes (Given): 25
Likes (Received): 570
Yup!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
''Never drive faster than your guardian ANGEL can fly''
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Coby7 is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-19-2015, 03:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 36
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
Where is this electrical rating found? I don't recall seeing a spec in the owner's manual for my 28+.

Ariens 921037 (Deluxe 28+)
jsolo is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-19-2015, 03:20 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
does the head light have a twist in bulb that looks sort of like this..:


or with a right angle instead of a straight connector?

IF so, there should be a p/n on the plastic housing somewhere..

this is what is stock on the toro... ( GE 892 )



and is 16watts.

I thought at some point the Ariens was the same bulb, just with a right angle connector.
I think your Ariens had the same basic engine as my Toro 1128OXE.

Toro's manual only give a Toro p/n , and it's 23bux for the Toro boxed bulb... but luckily my blower's bulb has the p/n on the plastic housing, I've found them at Rock Auto for $3.70 each by searching for GE 892.

I just went to LED, so was interested in the rating, didn't want to exceed it with 2 LED lights.

With the original headlight, the AC measured right at 13.5VAC rms.
My Toro is a 1amp AC generator , these bulbs are rated normally for 12Vdc automotive application.
As stated by Coby7, the DC power is just fine on the bubl, so long as the bulb wont over load the Alternator on the new engine.




10377

Last edited by NY Toro; 02-19-2015 at 03:28 PM.
NY Toro is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-19-2015, 07:13 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
bulb

the bulb is a 20 w so i guess ill change the alternator from the orignal motor thanks
tallen4392 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-19-2015, 07:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Coby7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Magnetic Hill, New Brunswick Canada Average snowfall (111.0'')282.0cms
Posts: 2,639
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 93
Likes (Given): 25
Likes (Received): 570
Quote:
Originally Posted by tallen4392 View Post
the bulb is a 20 w so i guess ill change the alternator from the orignal motor thanks
Wait now, why don't you get aLED bulb that matches your stator. You swill get 3 or 4 times the light output for the same wattage.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
''Never drive faster than your guardian ANGEL can fly''
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Coby7 is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-19-2015, 07:31 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 12
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by tallen4392 View Post
the bulb is a 20 w so i guess ill change the alternator from the orignal motor thanks
well, sounds like your ok ...
Assuming the output is 13.5vdc

20w/13.5vdc = 1.48Adc
didnt you say the new engine's dc output was 1.5Amps ?
Based on my Toro, they spec'd the output right at the light's requirement.
My Toro's output is rated @ 1amp and a 16watt bulb : 16w/13.5vacrms : 1.18amp
So try it, and measure the DC voltage.


And as Coby7, you can put LED lighting on.
I just put two on mine, drawing 1/2 the current, with more light out put and more coverage than the single halogen OEM light.

With a DC output, you have a lot to choose from.



1228212327
NY Toro is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-19-2015, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Coby7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Magnetic Hill, New Brunswick Canada Average snowfall (111.0'')282.0cms
Posts: 2,639
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 93
Likes (Given): 25
Likes (Received): 570
Quote:
Originally Posted by tallen4392 View Post
the bulb is a 20 w so i guess ill change the alternator from the orignal motor thanks
NO, no, no you are inside the norms. But if you change the original bulb to LED you will get better lighting for sure.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
''Never drive faster than your guardian ANGEL can fly''
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Coby7 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome