Auger/impeller won't shut off - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-01-2013, 06:28 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
GreatWhiteNorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 18
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Auger/impeller won't shut off

Hello all. Just picked up a new Deluxe 28 this weekend. Put different skids on it, checked all the fluids and started it up. It seems to run great, but the auger/impeller are constantly on even when nothing is engaged and Im standing away from the controls. The auger/impeller lever doesn't seem to activate anything. Not sure what is going on. Anyone have any ideas. Is there something Im missing? Thanks.
GreatWhiteNorth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-01-2013, 06:47 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Not sure of your exact setup, but check the linkage and make sure that it is lubricated. With the engine off and the auger lever depressed, the belt should be tight, now release the lever and the belt should be loose. If it isn't that's your issue and heck the cable, could of broke/froze.
rider1982 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-01-2013, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Blue Hill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 1,223
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 61
Thanks (Received): 52
Likes (Given): 266
Likes (Received): 108
Hey GWN, page 29 of your owners manual talks about adjusting the auger/impeller clutch/brake system. Since your machine is brand new, hopefully it just needs a little tweak.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Larry
Snow Removal Equipment:
2014 Ariens Platinum 24
A collection of shovels that I try to avoid using
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Blue Hill is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-01-2013, 08:16 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
GreatWhiteNorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 18
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Yeah, just did some reading and figured it out. The adjustment nut on the cable was snugged down way too tight. The pulley was always in contact with the belt. I backed off the adjustment nut and the pulley pulled away from the belt about 1/4 inch so I think Im good to go. In hindsight, I should have checked this first, but since this is my first Ariens (just sold my 1987 MTD) I didn't know if there was something quirky. Thanks for the help.
GreatWhiteNorth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome