Carb for 7HP Tec. - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 12-06-2015, 09:39 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: NW Connecticut
Posts: 49
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Carb for 7HP Tec.

Hi,

Are the carbs the same for the 5,6 and 7HP tecumseh? I need one for a 7HP where is the best place to buy one? and how do I find a part # as the original carb is gone?

Thanks
JohnnyDees is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 12-06-2015, 10:25 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,585
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 158
Likes (Given): 95
Likes (Received): 303
Need to find the engine number either on the top of the recoil stamped in, or a plate on the side of the recoil. Looking for H70 130xxx number to look up, HM70 132xxx, HSK70 130xxx

Last edited by jtclays; 12-06-2015 at 10:33 AM.
jtclays is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 12-06-2015, 10:41 AM
Super Moderator
 
Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 9,850
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 589
Thanks (Received): 770
Likes (Given): 4362
Likes (Received): 1741
Garage
Might look like this:



Or like the photo below:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ariens model serial numbers.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	87.0 KB
ID:	66025  

.
Make sure the windows are up before the snow plow goes by !!

Please help keep the lights on by subscribing:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kiss4aFrog is online now  
post #4 of 10 Old 12-06-2015, 03:48 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: NW Connecticut
Posts: 49
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Thanks, I can buy a 7 HP tec. off a guy but it has no carb. I was trying to find a ball park price on the carb to see if its worth it.
JohnnyDees is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 12-06-2015, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,592
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 87
Likes (Given): 57
Likes (Received): 268
you can find some great deals on carbs over on e-bay.
GoBlowSnow is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 12-06-2015, 04:11 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: NW Connecticut
Posts: 49
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Thats where Ive been looking. I may look for a more complete motor. It has no carb cover either. Some carbs on e bay are $15. Most posts Ive seen on here say they are $100. gotta do some research.
JohnnyDees is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 12-06-2015, 04:39 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,585
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 158
Likes (Given): 95
Likes (Received): 303
Original OEM Tecumseh carbs are the $100 ones. Most of the replacement ones listed on ebay are Chinese knockoffs. Oregon seems to advertise them as direct replacements, inferring they are Tecumseh. Some are fine, some have slight differences or require you to scavenge throttle ,choke shafts, or mounting brackets from the old carb to get alignment. If you type in Tecumseh H70 into partstree, you'll get 9 pages of engine model numbers with a few different carbs. That's why it kinda helps to get an engine model number before the carb number. "Most" are linkage or mounting hardware differences or fuel inlet arrangements.
jtclays is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 12-07-2015, 09:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 662
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 28
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 108
JohnnyDees, I have my 7HP Tecumseh just sitting here waiting for someone to take it who can use it. Send me a private message.

Kielbasa
Kielbasa is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 12-07-2015, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 1,239
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 88
Likes (Given): 127
Likes (Received): 280
I have had very good luck with the Chinese knock-offs for $15 on fee bay. I always or at least 2 when I get one. I have had to switch out the choke and throttle levers on some though becuase they were different than OEM. It helps to have one to stare and compare with.



bad69cat is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-07-2015, 08:12 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: NW Connecticut
Posts: 49
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
PM sent.
JohnnyDees is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome