post #1 of 5 Old 01-16-2016, 08:16 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 2
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 10
Auto Turn or manual locked differential

What is preferred?

The diff in my 1336Pro is grenaded. I brazed it up solid to get me by for now.

Should I replace it with the same as what it had (trigger lock) or is the Auto Lock a better deal?

I got the machine used last week and the trigger locked diff never did work right, so I have no experience with either diff.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 01-17-2016, 12:36 AM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 4
Likes (Given): 15
Likes (Received): 20
Hard to say yes or no. Some people don't like the auto turn some do. I use 2 machine that has it and I think they work fine once you get the hang of it. So seem some people hate it and some like it. Be good if you could try one out. Personally I don't like trigger
post #3 of 5 Old 01-18-2016, 05:23 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 118
Thanks (Received): 277
Likes (Given): 358
Likes (Received): 633
I don't have either of those styles. This may be old news for you, but Ariens also made another differential style.

That was a "normal", open differential (it's a true differential). The type in found most cars, where if either wheel spins (let's say rubber tire on smooth ice), you don't move. Note that this can also be locked up manually, to behave like a solid axle, though this locking/unlocking cannot be done on the fly. You have to stop and pull/release a pin on one wheel to change differential operation styles.