LED lights on Pro 28 - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 07-30-2016, 09:33 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 7
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
LED lights on Pro 28

I've been wanting to upgrade the lighting on my 2012 Ariens Pro 28 for some time now. I'm finally getting to it. I've been using this sticky "Upgrading your snowblower to LED lights" as a guide.

I'm no electronics expert so I could use some clarification on a few things.
First i'd like to use the Lemonbest lights shown on page 73.

Secondly, will I still need the 2200mfd 50v capacitors to clean up the "dirty" DC output?

What else do I need aside from a fuse holder? It appeared as though a 1 amp would be sufficient for 20w total?

Thanks,
Kelly

FWIW I didn't post any links because of the post count deal.

Last edited by Turbo3Ariens; 08-06-2016 at 06:44 PM.
Turbo3Ariens is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 07-31-2016, 06:10 PM
Senior Member
 
liftoff1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 729
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 36
Thanks (Received): 45
Likes (Given): 65
Likes (Received): 94
I did not see Lemonbest post on page 73, so not sure what the set up is you wanna duplicate.

Yes you will need a capacitor. Not required, but I set mine up with (2) capacitors in parallel, in case one failed. I then put 1 amp fuses in line as well.

I do have a couple extra sets of brackets, both tall and short if your interested. I have sold a few sets to members here and they are happy with them.

2014 Ariens Deluxe 30 #921032 w/Armor skids, LED's, Hand warmers.
2015 Ariens Path Pro SS-21 # 938033
2010 Toro 1800 Power curve (electric, for the deck)
2009 Toro Power Shovel (electric, for deck steps)
liftoff1967 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 07-31-2016, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
liftoff1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 729
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 36
Thanks (Received): 45
Likes (Given): 65
Likes (Received): 94
Here is a link to my post on the details of both types of brackets, as well as a link to the you tube video of my set up.

https://www.snowblowerforum.com/forum...-brackets.html

2014 Ariens Deluxe 30 #921032 w/Armor skids, LED's, Hand warmers.
2015 Ariens Path Pro SS-21 # 938033
2010 Toro 1800 Power curve (electric, for the deck)
2009 Toro Power Shovel (electric, for deck steps)
liftoff1967 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 07-31-2016, 07:15 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 7
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
My apologies, the Lemonbest lights were listed on page 62, post #616.

I was going to just drill holes in the side of the dash but after looking at your brackets I'm starting to reconsider it.
Turbo3Ariens is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 07-31-2016, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
liftoff1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 729
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 36
Thanks (Received): 45
Likes (Given): 65
Likes (Received): 94
it appears to me those lights would work.

Let us know how ya do.

2014 Ariens Deluxe 30 #921032 w/Armor skids, LED's, Hand warmers.
2015 Ariens Path Pro SS-21 # 938033
2010 Toro 1800 Power curve (electric, for the deck)
2009 Toro Power Shovel (electric, for deck steps)
liftoff1967 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 08-04-2016, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 112
Likes (Given): 13
Likes (Received): 292
[QUOTE=Turbo3Ariens;1017681]I've been wanting to upgrade the lighting on my 2013 Ariens Pro 28 for some time now. I'm finally getting to it. I've been using this sticky "Upgrading your snowblower to LED lights" as a guide.


What else do I need aside from a fuse holder? It appeared as though a 1 amp would be sufficient for 20w total?



I might be missing something here, but if your load is 20 watts, and your output voltage from your alternator is around 13 - 14 volts, you might want to go with a 2 amp fuse. Watts = Volts X amps. Amps = Watts / Volts.

20 watts would be exceeding the 1 amp fuse rating. It might last a while, depending on the type of fuse you use, but it will fail if its always overloaded

Work fascinates me.
I can watch somebody work for hours...
2008 Craftsman 944.528391 (It's a Husqvarna ST227P)
27", B&S 305cc 13.5 ft/lb Torque 9.5 hp
skutflut is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 08-05-2016, 07:43 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 7
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
It's certainly possible. I don't claim to be an electronics expert. I just based it off of what others with similar setups said they were using in the thread I referenced above.

Still waiting on parts to arrive for the time being.
Turbo3Ariens is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 08-06-2016, 06:44 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 7
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
On the wiring diagram I see A.C. Lighting (yellow) and D.C. Charge (red). I assume I should tap into the yellow lead?
Turbo3Ariens is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 08-06-2016, 07:53 PM
Senior Member
 
liftoff1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 729
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 36
Thanks (Received): 45
Likes (Given): 65
Likes (Received): 94
"IF" my memory serves me correct, and that is going on 2 seasons ago when I did mine, yes, yellow is your wire.

2014 Ariens Deluxe 30 #921032 w/Armor skids, LED's, Hand warmers.
2015 Ariens Path Pro SS-21 # 938033
2010 Toro 1800 Power curve (electric, for the deck)
2009 Toro Power Shovel (electric, for deck steps)
liftoff1967 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 08-06-2016, 10:28 PM
Member
 
Dpach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 33
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 3
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
I believe it is yellow. I routed the factory light lead wire through a single pole double throw switch and ran one side back to the factory light and the other through a bridge rectifier and a couples 2200 capacitors (included a couple 2amp fuse holders) to the new LEDS so I could have the factory light or the LEDs running depending on the situation .
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	200.9 KB
ID:	88217  
Dpach is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome