Plugging in the 2014 Ariens 28 Deluxe 921030 - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 Old 12-29-2013, 04:01 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Sudbury, ON
Posts: 28
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Plugging in the 2014 Ariens 28 Deluxe 921030

So I just picked up my first snowblower yesterday and am stumped on why the casing around the plug is so small. I can't find an extension cord that will fit it anywhere.. and i've got serious girl spaghetti arms.. it's my preferred choice to start it since i'm in northern ontario and -20 is normal.

Anyone have any suggestions?


Last edited by kellidotca; 12-29-2013 at 04:11 PM.
kellidotca is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 Old 12-29-2013, 04:10 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Sudbury, ON
Posts: 28
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
another angle

kellidotca is offline  
post #3 of 27 Old 12-29-2013, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 1,223
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 61
Thanks (Received): 52
Likes (Given): 266
Likes (Received): 108
Welcome Kelli
I have the same cord receptacle on my machine and encountered the same issue. You'll have to find a cord with an end that will fit, or just buy a cord end and cut off the female end from one your own cords and replace it. You can buy a fancy schmancy Ariens cord if you want as well, but I wouldn't. I'd likely swap out the female cord end. If you go that route, make sure you get the wires on the correct terminals. You'll have 3, green, white and black. Your terminals will be colour coded, green, brass and silver. Green wire on green, white on silver and black on the brass coloured one. You can likely find a YouTube video if you haven't tried this before.
Good luck.
Larry


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Larry
Snow Removal Equipment:
2014 Ariens Platinum 24
A collection of shovels that I try to avoid using
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Blue Hill is offline  
post #4 of 27 Old 12-29-2013, 05:20 PM
Moderator
 
detdrbuzzard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 42.23n/83.33w/636
Posts: 6,658
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 225
Thanks (Received): 295
Likes (Given): 1882
Likes (Received): 663
hello kellidotca, welcome to SBF!! my 826 toro is also a tight fit so i looked around the house for one of these



current machines
1-toro2450E-38419. 1-toro3000E-38435. 1-toro 3650E-38445
2-toro 521E-38052. 1-toro xl824pt 38086
1-.............,TORO XL 624ps..............
1-............, TORO XL 824ps..............
william
detdrbuzzard is online now  
post #5 of 27 Old 12-29-2013, 05:20 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 27
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 3
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 1
It looks like the problem is the clearance to the right of the ground terminal. I would grind down the plug on your extension cord in that area.

Tom
Tom99 is offline  
post #6 of 27 Old 12-29-2013, 05:56 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Sudbury, ON
Posts: 28
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Thanks for the welcome and suggestions it seems strange to me that Ariens would make such a big mistake on a cold weather machine. If the plug doesn't fit a standard extension cord, you're doing it wrong.

Hopefully I'll figure this out before the snow hits again!
kellidotca is offline  
post #7 of 27 Old 12-29-2013, 06:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 1,223
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 61
Thanks (Received): 52
Likes (Given): 266
Likes (Received): 108
It fits a lot of cords, just not the real heavy duty ones. If I was allowed to guess, I would say you might find that identical setup on lots of brands with electric start. Nobody except Honda and Yamaha actually make their own engines.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Larry
Snow Removal Equipment:
2014 Ariens Platinum 24
A collection of shovels that I try to avoid using
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Blue Hill is offline  
post #8 of 27 Old 12-29-2013, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 3,188
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 143
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 297
Welcome to SBF, and as someone else has mentioned, I'd looked at the clearance aisles for Christmas light extension cords, that have a smaller ground nub (little rubber protuberance on the plugs exterior) and either take some nippers, or if you have a bench grinder, slowly work the ground side down until it fits.

I am surprised that this was designed the way it was. It almost looks like it should be oriented 180 degrees from the way that it is. My guess is, that they have done this, so that you will have to buy the proprietary "accessory cord." I don't know if that is the case, but it is the only plausible explanation that I can come up with.

Best of luck.

Garage:
MTD....2 stage(modern 8.5 HP) not my favorite
Honda HS622 TA-B - acquired at an auction- nice machine for it's size.
Toro S-140- Picked it up on trash day... it runs, sort of.
Yamaha YS 240 TB "Ricky" latest Craigslist find- on the bench now.
db9938 is offline  
post #9 of 27 Old 12-29-2013, 06:16 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Sudbury, ON
Posts: 28
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
The 24" deluxe has more space between the ground terminal and casing than the 28" but HD didn't have another 28" to test on as they were sold out. Oh well.. they seemed just as surprised as i was.

I've only found a couple of other complaints online, so maybe it's just a given.
kellidotca is offline  
post #10 of 27 Old 12-29-2013, 07:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: New Lenox
Posts: 2,198
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 275
Thanks (Received): 330
Likes (Given): 3338
Likes (Received): 679
I thought all new blowers came with the cord if the machine is equipped with electric start.??? I would see if new machines in the box at the store have them and request (demand) one if they do.
Grunt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome