LED Upgrade - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 01-16-2020, 11:05 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 7
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 0
LED Upgrade

I bought a Ariens Platinum (921051) 30 SHO 414cc Two-Stage Snow Blower last winter. Ran and still runs like a champ. My issue is lighting. I have a longer driveway out of town and I canít see if I try and move snow at night.
I watched a few YouTube videos and thought itís should be simple. I have some wiring background. I ordered some 18W LEDs, a wiring harnesses, bridge rectifier, and a switch. Iíll post links to what I ordered at the end.

My problem, I cannot get proper power to the lights. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Lights: Nilight 60001F-B Bar 2PCS 18w 4" Flood Fog Road Boat Driving Led Work Light SUV Jeep Lamp,2 Years Warranty



Harness: Nilight 10011W 16AWG Wiring Harness Kit-2 Leads LED Light Bar 12V On/Off 5 Pin Rocker Switch Power Relay Blade Fuse for Jeep Boat Trucks, 2 Years Warranty



Bridge Rectifier: NTE Electronics NTE5322 Full Wave Single Phase Bridge Rectifier with Quick Connect Leads, 25 Amps, 200V Maximum Recurrent Peak Reverse Voltage


Fawkes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 01-16-2020, 11:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada eh
Posts: 1,320
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 77
Likes (Given): 66
Likes (Received): 241
what do you mean by you can't get proper power? are you sure you got it wired right?

arien 520 snow blower 6.5hp swap
yardworks 31AH6WKF515
crazzywolfie is online now  
post #3 of 18 Old 01-17-2020, 12:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Coby7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Magnetic Hill, New Brunswick Canada Average snowfall (111.0'')282.0cms
Posts: 2,898
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 114
Likes (Given): 31
Likes (Received): 755
Make sure your voltage is DC 9-30 volts and that you have the right polarity.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
''Never drive faster than your guardian ANGEL can fly''
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Coby7 is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Fawkes thanked for this post
post #4 of 18 Old 01-17-2020, 05:26 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 7
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 0
I spliced into the wire running to the headlight. Connected the wiring harness. Spliced in the rectifier in after the switch to the lights.
Fawkes is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 01-17-2020, 05:27 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 7
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 0
Iím getting 1.8 volts I donít know why itís so low.
Fawkes is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 01-17-2020, 05:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Coby7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Magnetic Hill, New Brunswick Canada Average snowfall (111.0'')282.0cms
Posts: 2,898
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 114
Likes (Given): 31
Likes (Received): 755
What wattage is it suppose to supply. Maybe you are overloading the output. Try only one light.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
''Never drive faster than your guardian ANGEL can fly''
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Coby7 is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes Kiss4aFrog liked this post
post #7 of 18 Old 01-17-2020, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada eh
Posts: 1,320
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 77
Likes (Given): 66
Likes (Received): 241
are you running the stock light along with the led light? have you tried testing what is going into the rectifier? if you are trying to run the stock light along with the led light on the 1 circuit you are most likely overloading the circuit. the stock light by itself almost uses the entire wattage output for the 1 circuit. if it has the heated grips wire but your machine doesn't have heated grips you can use that stator to power the led lights.

arien 520 snow blower 6.5hp swap
yardworks 31AH6WKF515
crazzywolfie is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Fawkes thanked for this post
Likes Kiss4aFrog liked this post
post #8 of 18 Old 01-17-2020, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
1132le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: ma
Posts: 1,288
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 32
Thanks (Received): 99
Likes (Given): 68
Likes (Received): 223
Garage
Without the heated grips on it should still run both those lights and the stock light easy
bench test both lights
attach temp leads wire up 1 light direct from the spliced stock wires see if it works

id think you must have it wired wrong
1132le is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Fawkes thanked for this post
post #9 of 18 Old 01-17-2020, 06:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Central Maryland
Posts: 180
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 5
Thanks (Received): 28
Likes (Given): 41
Likes (Received): 46
Only run the load briefly if you only have 1.8V output, you could burn out the coil. Make sure the heated grips are off. Check that the bridge rectifier is wired correctly, how did you wire it? Make sure that neither wire after the rectifier is grounded. Also, when you get it working the led light may flicker, you don't state that you have included a capacitor in the circuit.

1986 Toro 524 (Predator 212 Hemi, Impeller Mod.)
1997 Toro 724
1997 Toro 824XL Power Throw
toromike is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Fawkes thanked for this post
post #10 of 18 Old 01-17-2020, 07:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ashland, MA
Posts: 390
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 20
Thanks (Received): 13
Likes (Given): 90
Likes (Received): 67
Be sure the rectifier is properly wired
foggysail is online now  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Fawkes thanked for this post
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome