Chute Rotation Switch Connection - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-30-2017, 04:17 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Unhappy Chute Rotation Switch Connection

Hi new guy here. I am having an issue with my Craftsman Snowblower Model # 536.886180 Specifically the chute rotation switch Part # 1752240YP https://www.searspartsdirect.com/par...ntDetailsBlock. It makes contact in both directions when bench tested via continuity test. Once switch is installed the chute will only turn in one direction or no direction at all. Anyone have this issue? I suspect it to be a contact issue at the connector directly at the switch. If I move connector it seems to work sometimes. I cleaned the connector with a good douse of 91% Isopropyl alcohol and will fill with dielectric grease tomorrow and give it another go. I can't find any other connections as most of the wire path is inside wire loom material. One ground was visible and looks clean and secure. No rust. I really miss manual turn handles for the chute right about now.

Last edited by Rambodog; 12-30-2017 at 04:34 AM. Reason: Spelling correction
Rambodog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-30-2017, 11:43 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Anyone? I am in Western NY and really gotta move some snow. No luck with cleaning the connection. I find no other visible connections to check. I would hate to order a new harness for nothing. Thanks.
Rambodog is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-30-2017, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: bolton, ont(north of toronto)
Posts: 775
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 54
Thanks (Received): 62
Likes (Given): 50
Likes (Received): 148
give it power and test it under load like a 12volt car light bulbs.

Bought a dead but now fixed 1980ish craftsman II 10/28....ITS ONE HEAVY BEAST

MY VIDS ON FIXIN HER UP

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

vinnycom is online now  
post #4 of 11 Old 12-30-2017, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
drmerdp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 1,287
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 141
Likes (Given): 24
Likes (Received): 291
Looks like a double pole double throw switch.

Power and ground coming in the middle then power and ground leaving in Opposite directions on either side.

Most motors change direction by switching power and ground to operate in forward and reverse. Simply use a test light to check for power coming out of both sides of the switch based on hitting that direction.

If you have it on one side and not the other, the switch is bad. From what I gather, itís a very commmon problem.

Honda HSS1328AATD | Honda HS720 | Toro Powerlite | Simplicity 860se


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
drmerdp is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-30-2017, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,163
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 21
Thanks (Received): 63
Likes (Given): 254
Likes (Received): 239
You can test it at the plug for the chute motor. Put a meter on it, and have someone push the button. You should get 12v in one direction and -12v in the other.

Another way, is just put a test light at the connector, switch side of course, see if it lights in both directions. Test lights don't care about polarity, it will just light. If the test light even lights in either direction, the switch is good.
jsup is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-30-2017, 02:51 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Thanks a lot for the replies. I really appreciate some fresh thought on this. I will try the recommendations and will update. Thanks again.
Rambodog is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 12-30-2017, 03:59 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Okay, I tried something simple first. I ran the thing and found the chute would only turn one direction. Same issue so I just flipped the switch around and the chute would go the other way. Flip it and it would go the opposite way. It's the switch no doubt. I am ordering one from Sears Direct unless someone knows other options. I didn't find it anywhere, but Sears online. It looks to be an updated part now. Maybe it's better? I am gonna buy more than one just to avoid being down again like this. Thanks for the input. I will still update to close this thread when I get part installed and have things working again.
Rambodog is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 12-30-2017, 04:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: bolton, ont(north of toronto)
Posts: 775
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 54
Thanks (Received): 62
Likes (Given): 50
Likes (Received): 148
my guess water got into switch and corrosion killed it, if can be taken apart u could clean corrosion off

Bought a dead but now fixed 1980ish craftsman II 10/28....ITS ONE HEAVY BEAST

MY VIDS ON FIXIN HER UP

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

vinnycom is online now  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-30-2017, 05:49 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Thanks vinnycom, I did just that and found there to be zero corrosion at all. After every use I pour hot water over the machine by the bucket full to rinse it of salt mostly. It evaporates fast in the cold and seems to work well in keeping it clean and rust free. I avoid the motor itself till it cools a bit and I do it then. It lives in a heated garage so things dry out fast with a wood burning stove running. Anyways, the contacts in the switch were just pitted from normal use. The switch uses real soft points so it will happen again, but there is enough meat to clean it several times safely. I sanded the points and used a flat head screwdriver to get at the tighter points in the bottom of switch. All other parts come out and were easier to sand the pits out. I put some CRC Dielectric grease in the mechanical area of the switch and reinstalled. Works like a charm now. I am still going to buy another switch or 2 even cause I see this becoming a maintenance item and the points will eventually wear too low sanding them. Thanks to all for your input. I am an avid forum member on Silveradosierra.com and have learned a ton there about my truck while hanging out over there. I might stick around here and maybe pick up a few tips about my machine and maybe help someone else.
Rambodog is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 12-31-2017, 02:00 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 1
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
For giggles, I had zero issues with the chute while out cleaning up. I did however manage to shear a pin and lost half the auger. It powered thru with added passes of course. Anyone familiar with the cable control for the chute distance control on this machine? By design they attached the cable to the back of chute and it breaks the plastic cable shell in one or two turns of the chute. Pathetic design. Any mods for this issue? The OE clamp is about 1/2" wide so I used the OE clamp to hold a 3" piece of 1/4" soft copper curved and the cable passed thru snug. It helped, but eventually the cable jacket just broke further down the line. The operation seems to be unaffected by the break in the jacket. I keep spraying cable lube in the crack and it keeps working so far. I wanted to add that I found an option for a switch since the Sears one is $40 shipped. It will require some simple pig tails to be made with shrink tubing and some minor soldering to harness, but it should fit right in place of the OE switch. I ordered a few for back ups. Got 3 for less than one through Sears. An online chat specialist did offer free shipping to save me $7 when I went sniffing around for a discount. The alternative looks like the better way with 3 of them and cleaning when needed, they should last a real long time. Here is the switch.



Last edited by Rambodog; 01-01-2018 at 11:01 PM.
Rambodog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome