Wrong size auger belt - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 Old 01-09-2018, 07:23 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Wes Kootenay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Slocan Valley, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 60
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 4
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 5
Wrong size auger belt

Working on a neighbor's Canadian Sears Craftsman 10HP/28" Model C950-52120-2. I believe this was made by Murray? We bought a genuine Murray auger belt # 585416MA, as this was listed on-line for this model. Tried to install it today but it is way too tight. Anybody know the correct belt # for this model?

Thanks.

Al
Wes Kootenay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 Old 01-09-2018, 07:30 PM
Senior Member
 
POWERSHIFT93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: PARADISE CITY, MN
Posts: 9,052
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 479
Thanks (Received): 341
Likes (Given): 290
Likes (Received): 1088
ALOHA from the Paradise City.

Long LIVE THE POWERSHIFT!! MAY IT NEVER RUST IN PEACE!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MAHALO!!!!!!!!!
POWERSHIFT93 is offline  
post #3 of 36 Old 01-09-2018, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 189
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 5
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 34
Garage
Do you have the user manual ? I trust this more than any online vendor's wiki.
broo is offline  
post #4 of 36 Old 01-09-2018, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
JLawrence08648's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lawrenceville NJ
Posts: 2,098
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 88
Thanks (Received): 174
Likes (Given): 68
Likes (Received): 403
Garage
Measure the belt, it should be 38.2"

I have a Murray Craftsman 10/29 and a Murray Noma 9/27, both use the same belt 585416.

I only buy D&D Drive and Pix belts, Kevlar if they have them, because of the quality of their belts and the length accuracy.

There is an idler wheel adjustment, maybe you have that set too tight?

1986 Ariens ST522, 5hp, 22"
1995 Murray Craftsman 10hp, 29" w. 12" impeller
A 1983 Real John Deere 10hp, 32" w. 12" impeller, 16" auger, 20" high front, cast iron gear box, chains
Noma 9hp, 27" w. 12" impeller
Noma 5hp, 24" w. 12" impeller, 20" high front
Gravely Convertible, 12hp Kohler cast iron, 26" width, 600 lbs of cast iron & steel, 2 speed impeller, 4 ground speeds
Dynamark 8hp, 26", 12" impeller, for sale
Several other 5hp, 8hp, several 2 cycle, all for sale
JLawrence08648 is offline  
post #5 of 36 Old 01-09-2018, 11:09 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,585
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 158
Likes (Given): 95
Likes (Received): 302
144

Last edited by jtclays; 03-13-2018 at 04:49 PM.
jtclays is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 0 Thanks, 1 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Likes JLawrence08648 liked this post
post #6 of 36 Old 01-09-2018, 11:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: bolton, ont(north of toronto)
Posts: 775
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 54
Thanks (Received): 62
Likes (Given): 50
Likes (Received): 148
c950-52810-8 is my canadian craftsman 28/10 from the 80's..

traction belt
313851 1/2" x 39"
#51458 as listed in manual
carquest dayco ap37=39"od

auger belt
313847MA 1/2" x 40"
#51224 as listed in manual
carquest dayco ap38 =40"od

i used dayco from carquest @ ~$12 each

Bought a dead but now fixed 1980ish craftsman II 10/28....ITS ONE HEAVY BEAST

MY VIDS ON FIXIN HER UP

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by vinnycom; 01-10-2018 at 02:15 AM.
vinnycom is offline  
post #7 of 36 Old 01-10-2018, 08:05 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Wes Kootenay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Slocan Valley, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 60
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 4
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 5
Thanks for the very helpful replies.
I have double checked that I have the correct belt, but for some reason it won't fit. I tried to refit the old belt (which was stretched so much that I had to move the idler to the max to make it work), same problem. It looks like, when I split the drive/auger sections to replace the belt something went out of whack and caused the distance from the engine drive shive to the auger drive to increase?? With the idler removed, I can force the belt on but, of course, the auger turns all the time.
This is my neighbor's machine, brought it to my place this evening so I can take a better look at it tomorrow.

Al
Wes Kootenay is offline  
post #8 of 36 Old 01-11-2018, 07:16 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Wes Kootenay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Slocan Valley, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 60
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 4
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 5
Hmmm, tried to post an update with pictures - didn't happen. Guess I'll have to introduce myself another six times to qualify?
Wes Kootenay is offline  
post #9 of 36 Old 01-11-2018, 07:46 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,585
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 158
Likes (Given): 95
Likes (Received): 302
So how's the weather up there?
jtclays is offline  
Post Thanks / Like - 1 Thanks, 0 Likes, 0 Dislikes
Thanks Wes Kootenay thanked for this post
post #10 of 36 Old 01-12-2018, 10:44 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Wes Kootenay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Slocan Valley, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 60
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 6
Thanks (Received): 4
Likes (Given): 2
Likes (Received): 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtclays View Post
So how's the weather up there?
Ha, ha - thanks!
Our weather is VERY mild for the time of the year. Lots of wet, heavy snow. My Ariens loves it, my neighbor's Craftsman - not so much.
My wife was born in Detroit, she says "Hi".

Al.
Wes Kootenay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome