No movement - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 01-22-2018, 01:33 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: St. Anthony, NL, Canada
Posts: 15
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 3
No movement

I have a Craftsman 944.522444 snowblower, When I engage the drive handle I get no movement at all, I removed the bottom housing and on the right side of the friction(drive) plate I see a spring only connected on one end, I cannot see where it should be reattached and the drive parts does not show where it would attach. Would this be the sole reason I have no drive ? Where does it attach?
Leaton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 01-22-2018, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: bolton, ont(north of toronto)
Posts: 775
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 54
Thanks (Received): 62
Likes (Given): 50
Likes (Received): 148
pics would help, a spring only connected on one end is not doing its job, what that job is idk , could be for the swing plate, but pics would help

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	spring1.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	163.7 KB
ID:	127273  

Bought a dead but now fixed 1980ish craftsman II 10/28....ITS ONE HEAVY BEAST

MY VIDS ON FIXIN HER UP

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by vinnycom; 01-22-2018 at 01:48 PM.
vinnycom is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 01-22-2018, 01:42 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: St. Anthony, NL, Canada
Posts: 15
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 3
Thanks, but this site says I cannot post attachments to my posts??
Leaton is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 01-22-2018, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
deezlfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Otsego Co. NY
Posts: 208
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 2
Thanks (Received): 12
Likes (Given): 3
Likes (Received): 30
Quote:
Thanks, but this site says I cannot post attachments to my posts??
You need ten posts before that is allowed.

There's just one thing I'll guarantee , the best things in life, they sure AIN'T FREE !!

88 Craftsman II Trac-Plus 10/32 [wheeled conversion]
71 Ariens SnoThro 6/24 [Predator 6.5 repower]
72 Ariens SnoThro 6/24 with original Tecumseh H60
7? Ariens Tractor with rotary mower attachment [Tecumseh HSK100 repower]
deezlfan is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 01-22-2018, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: bolton, ont(north of toronto)
Posts: 775
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 54
Thanks (Received): 62
Likes (Given): 50
Likes (Received): 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leaton View Post
Thanks, but this site says I cannot post attachments to my posts??
i added a pic to my previous post.
just say hi 10 times in different threads than u can post pics


Bought a dead but now fixed 1980ish craftsman II 10/28....ITS ONE HEAVY BEAST

MY VIDS ON FIXIN HER UP

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

vinnycom is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 01-22-2018, 01:51 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: St. Anthony, NL, Canada
Posts: 15
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 3
The spring seems to be higher than the ones you have in that picture, connected to a small plate that appears to be in the belt compartment.
Leaton is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 01-22-2018, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: bolton, ont(north of toronto)
Posts: 775
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 54
Thanks (Received): 62
Likes (Given): 50
Likes (Received): 148
could be your idle spring tensioner

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	spring4.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	467.4 KB
ID:	127297  

Bought a dead but now fixed 1980ish craftsman II 10/28....ITS ONE HEAVY BEAST

MY VIDS ON FIXIN HER UP

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by vinnycom; 01-22-2018 at 02:02 PM.
vinnycom is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 01-22-2018, 02:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Snowbelt_subie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cleveland ohio
Posts: 559
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 16
Thanks (Received): 12
Likes (Given): 31
Likes (Received): 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leaton View Post
I have a Craftsman 944.522444 snowblower, When I engage the drive handle I get no movement at all, I removed the bottom housing and on the right side of the friction(drive) plate I see a spring only connected on one end, I cannot see where it should be reattached and the drive parts does not show where it would attach. Would this be the sole reason I have no drive ? Where does it attach?
i would try adjusting the drive cable they tend to stretch. if you follow it down you will see a rubber boot you should be able to unhook the cable from the handle and make it shorter. try that

Toro snow commander 7hp RTEK ...honda HS720 GC190 OHC
Toro ccr3650 6.5hp RTEK ....Ariens sno-tek 26" 208cc LCT
Ariens st824 924082 HMSK 80 ....Ariens path pro 136cc
Snowbelt_subie is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 01-22-2018, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: St. Anthony, NL, Canada
Posts: 15
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 3
images

Thanks , that may be it for the spring, but would the idler spring cause the snowblower not to move?? doesn't make sense.
When I try to posy an image it asks for the url but I do not have the pictures on a site just on my laptop, am I missing something, lol
Leaton is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 01-22-2018, 02:21 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: St. Anthony, NL, Canada
Posts: 15
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 3
I have tried that but to no avail, I am wondering if maybe that idler spring would be the culprit, would that cause the belt to slip when I suppress that drive handle and engage the friction wheel /drive plate?
Leaton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome