LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-04-2019, 03:36 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Auger cable issues

This is my first time posting on this forum. I apologize in advance if I use the wrong terms or improper part names. I am not very mechanically inclined, just ask my wife, she will be more than happy to verify that. I have a Craftsman 24” Snow Thrower Model # 247.881732. I purchased it two years ago. While it was still under warranty I had to have it taken in for servicing for two issues: 1- The auger cable broke inside the cover/housing. 2-The engine would only run smoothly at half choke. The authorized Craftsman service dealer in Benton Harbor, Michigan fixed both issues.

Last week I was using the machine when the auger cable went slack after I released it to disengage the auger. The cable only went slack from the tension bracket on the back of the housing up to the handle. I can still push the Auger cable lever down and the auger will engage and work just fine. However, when I release the handle to disengage the auger, the handle will only raise so far. I have to manually lift up the handle in order for the auger to disengage. The tension bracket for the auger cable on the back of the housing and the small pulley under the belt cover seem to be working just fine. There is nothing that is stopping them and they both allow the auger cable to move freely.

Since the unit is out of warranty, I decided to remove the belt cover and look for myself. I observed two issues that I would like some advice/suggestions on what to do with: