2014 Craftsman 24-inch 208cc model 88173 - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 02-05-2014, 11:04 AM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
2014 Craftsman 24-inch 208cc model 88173

Hi! New guy here from Indianapolis. Well, my background is that I've been using snow blowers (borrowing from neighbors mainly) for years until about 7 or 8 years ago I bought a used Simplicity (I believe it was built in '81) from a co-worker. It was never maintained very well so I had put a ton of money into it, got it up and running but it was never running really well. It was heavy, it didn't throw the snow very far, backfired quite a bit and finally when I couldn't start it, I removed the carburetor and took it to a small engine repair shop. The shop closed down and I never got the carburetor back so the last time it worked had been 3 or 4 years ago. Honestly, we really hadn't had a snow worthy of getting the thing out so it wasn't really an issue.

This year I gave away the Simplicity and bought this Craftsman 24-inch 208cc model. I bought this unit based on a lot of research I had done on the model, the engine, etc. I read a review on the unit here. And I read a review on the motor here. It's much lighter than my old one, the wheels/tires are smaller too. I wanted to wait to write a review on it until I had a chance to use it a few times. Boy did it get a workout this morning! We had at least 8 inches of snow today.