Craftsman Tractor Snow Thrower Attachment Problems - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 02-05-2014, 01:33 PM Thread Starter

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Craftsman Tractor Snow Thrower Attachment Problems

Good morning. First time poster here.. Luckily havent really needed help until now.

SO i have a 2 year old craftman Y450 (i think) model lawn tractor with the 42 inch 2 stage snow thrower attachment.

If it having major issues. ALl could be related, could be more than 1 thing.

1. Burning smell from main thrower belt under heavy load.
2. Throw distance is terrible.
3. Bogs down terribly. Chute does clog some, then works itself free after a bit.
4. Cant do any more than a few inches without super super slow speeds.

Now ill preface this by saying i am NOT a mechanically inclined guy for engines or this type of stuff. Im technical by nature

The tension pulley on the right side is pulled as far as it will go. Although it does not seem to apply a whole lot of tension when i engage the PTO. seems much too easy to engage.

Given all of this, what might be some suggestions as to fixes? I can do the work, or hire it done, but With so much going on here, I just cant adequately diagnose it.

WOuld appreciate some help from the brilliant folks on this forum.
Thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 02-05-2014, 01:39 PM

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 3
Thanks (Received): 27
Likes (Received): 42
You may have a bearing in one of your pull sheaves that has seized. The pulley would not turn but the belt would, and it would be skidding on the frozen pulley. It would affect the performance of the blower, and the friction would result in the burning smell you are experiencing. You could check this by removing the belt, and making sure that you can spin all your pulleys freely. MH
post #3 of 21 Old 02-05-2014, 01:48 PM Thread Starter