Craftsman to Tecumseh conversion - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 01-10-2011, 09:43 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
butchf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oswego,Il
Posts: 93
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Craftsman to Tecumseh conversion

Does anyone know how to convert 143.019003 Craftsman engine model to the proper Tecumseh model number?

The engine is on a 26", 2 stage, electric start, 9 HP snow blower,
Craftsman model number 536.886260, serial number 830618419.

I looked in the Tecumseh L-head manual, but it starts with 143.2xxxxx.
So I'm guessing it must be a different style engine.
Thanks for any help!

Bast regards,
Butch
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


__________________
1979 S140 Toro...."mini-me"
2009 Craftsman 88690 28" 1150 Briggs..."BIG DOG"
and all my customer's machines I get to play with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
butchf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 01-10-2011, 09:49 AM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
143.019003 hmsk90-156536d
Shryp is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 01-10-2011, 09:54 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
butchf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oswego,Il
Posts: 93
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
guess I should do a better search before I post....
I found the conversion here, http://sears.pammar.net/tcross.pdf.
Turns out to be a HMSK90-156536D.
I found it on My Tractor forum site.....thx so much!

Bast regards,
Butch
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


__________________
1979 S140 Toro...."mini-me"
2009 Craftsman 88690 28" 1150 Briggs..."BIG DOG"
and all my customer's machines I get to play with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
butchf is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 01-10-2011, 10:01 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
butchf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oswego,Il
Posts: 93
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
hey Shryp, have you ever tried to adjust the governor on one of those?
I'm having a real problem getting it to idle and run smooth at high speed.
If I smooth out high speed it won't idle???
It has a "fixed adjustment" carb. I can raise the RPM from the throttle control screw and there is a idle adjust screw but no idle mixture or high speed adjustment. The only other change I can make is the governor linkage.
It goes to the throttle on the carb and throttle control lever.

Bast regards,
Butch
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


__________________
1979 S140 Toro...."mini-me"
2009 Craftsman 88690 28" 1150 Briggs..."BIG DOG"
and all my customer's machines I get to play with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
butchf is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 01-10-2011, 10:06 AM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
No. Did you try cleaning the carb?
Shryp is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 01-10-2011, 10:09 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
butchf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oswego,Il
Posts: 93
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Yes, I think I may have to adjust the float as it calls for 11/64 gap and this one is about .090 bigger.

Bast regards,
Butch
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


__________________
1979 S140 Toro...."mini-me"
2009 Craftsman 88690 28" 1150 Briggs..."BIG DOG"
and all my customer's machines I get to play with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
butchf is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 01-10-2011, 10:09 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
butchf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oswego,Il
Posts: 93
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Would a bad primer tube cause this surging issue?

Bast regards,
Butch
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


__________________
1979 S140 Toro...."mini-me"
2009 Craftsman 88690 28" 1150 Briggs..."BIG DOG"
and all my customer's machines I get to play with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
butchf is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 01-10-2011, 10:16 AM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
I have heard bad primer circuits can create air leaks. Not sure myself, but sounds logical.
Shryp is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 01-10-2011, 10:22 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
butchf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oswego,Il
Posts: 93
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Thanks for the fast reply!
After working on 250+ machines, this is the first one that is driving me nuts.
When I figure it out I'll post up for all to benefit.

Got to go move the shop this morning......about 3000 sq ft bigger building...

got delivery's to do at 10am and lumber coming in at noon....

catch you later

Bast regards,
Butch
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


__________________
1979 S140 Toro...."mini-me"
2009 Craftsman 88690 28" 1150 Briggs..."BIG DOG"
and all my customer's machines I get to play with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
butchf is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 01-10-2011, 10:39 AM
Senior Member
 
BOSMECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Grafton MA.
Posts: 200
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
I hope this helps.
http://www.cpdonline.com/692509.pdf

Also make sure that the linkage is clean and that it is all in the right holes.
I am sure you have checked all that though from your experience.
The govenor adjustment is very easy though.
BOSMECH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome