Beg for Manuals - Craftsman Trac 5/23 - 536884810 - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-21-2015, 12:48 AM Thread Starter
Banned

Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 99
Thanks (Received): 50
Likes (Given): 48
Likes (Received): 77
Beg for Manuals - Craftsman Trac 5/23 - 536884810

Craftsman Trac Drive 5/23 - 536884810 - with non-standard 5.5HP Engine

Hello, I am looking for any available manuals please.
Owner's / Service / Original 5HP Engine

I Just picked this up tonight for almost zero cost!
I have no idea what the engine is (yet) - it's a custom upgrade.

The previous owner is a serious mechanic. His 3 car garage is just one giant workshop. He wanted this snowblower out of the way so that he can focus on other projects.

I, on the other hand, am pretty much a total newbie with lots of learning to do. I am doing this more as a hobby and as a challenge.

He also gave me the original 5HP engine.

That might be fun to play with. There's no need to worry about messing that one up.... it's not on the machine and I assume the replacement 5.5HP engine should be an improvement anyway.

When I asked why he changed the engine, he said the original seemed a little weak and tired... so he decided to rebuild it. However, it was frustrating for him trying to hunt down and find obsolete parts. Although he admits he didn't look too hard. I guess time is money for him. So he decided to order a 5.5HP engine from ebay and just drop it in.

Pictures and more info to follow when I get this into daylight.

Oh yes... It's a strange coincidence... two hours earlier in the day I sold my Craftsman 4/20 Trac Drive which had been sitting idle in my garage for several years. After a carburetor ultrasound clean (2 days ago), it started first time and ran smoothly. I stumbled into this bigger 5/23 machine while researching how to sell my 4/20.