Craftsman - 9HP "Tecumseh" New Carb - Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 01-25-2016, 05:39 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: E Northport, NY
Posts: 3
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Craftsman - 9HP "Tecumseh" New Carb

Hi all, new to the forum, I have an older model Craftsman snowblower, the "Green Beast" with a Tecumseh 9 HP motor, I swapped out the carb due to the old one being a complete mess, but still it stalls under load, and seems to be using way too much fuel. The carb does not have any settings screws, except idle and the main screw under the bowl, valve issue perhaps ? Or other setting I do not know about, assuming carb is set correctly "out of the box".
Nordon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 01-25-2016, 06:33 AM
Moderator
 
Shryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,159
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 196
Likes (Given): 6
Likes (Received): 250
It could be related to the valves. As those Tecumseh's get older the valves start to not close all the way as they heat up. Might need to check the adjustment and grind the stems a little.

Could also have something to do with the governor or the new carb.

Please direct all snow blower questions to the forums and not to me with PMs.
Shryp is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 01-25-2016, 09:29 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: E Northport, NY
Posts: 3
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shryp View Post
It could be related to the valves. As those Tecumseh's get older the valves start to not close all the way as they heat up. Might need to check the adjustment and grind the stems a little.

Could also have something to do with the governor or the new carb.
That would make sense as it seems it runs much better for the first few mins, then seems to get worse after 5-10 mins of runtime. Thanks!
Nordon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowblower Forum : Snow Blower Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome